Virginia CDL Requirements

Virginia CDL Classes

      You must be at least 18 years old to operate a commercial motor vehicle within the state of Virginia (intrastate) and at least 21 years of age to operate a commercial motor vehicle outside the state of Virginia (interstate). You must also be at least 21 years old to transport materials that are deemed hazardous and to transport passengers using a commercial motor vehicle. You need a Virginia CDL in order to operate either commercial or non-commercial motor vehicles that fall into the following categories:

Class A
      Any combination of vehicles with a Gross Vehicle Weight Rating of 26,001 pounds or more, provided that the gross vehicle weight rating of the towed vehicle is in excess of 10,000 pounds.  

Class B
      Any single vehicle with a Gross Vehicle Weight Rating of 26,001 or more pounds, as well as any vehicle towing another vehicle that does not exceed a weight of 10,000 pounds. 

Class C
      Any vehicle or combination of vehicles that does not meet the criteria of either Class A or Class B, but is designed to transport 16 or more passengers (including the driver), or is used in transporting materials classified as hazardous in the Hazardous Materials Transportation Act. Each applicant must also have a passenger or hazardous materials endorsement in order to obtain a Class C commercial driver’s license. 

Applying for a Virginia Commercial Learner’s Permit

      You must already possess a Virginia commercial learner’s permit (CLP) before you can take the CDL Skills Test. Before applying for a Virginia commercial learner’s permit, you must already possess a valid Virginia Class D driver’s license. You will be issued a Virginia commercial driver’s license (CDL) when you pass both the written general knowledge test and the CDL Skills Test. 

      In order to obtain a commercial learner’s permit in the state of Virginia, you must:

      El  Obtención de una Licencia de Conducir o una tarjeta de Identificación (ID) de Virginia Hoja de Información también está disponible en español.

      If you have any questions about which documents to bring to your nearest Virginia Customer Service Center when you apply for your commercial learner’s permit, you can speak to a customer service representative at the Virginia Department of Motor Vehicles Customer Service Center by calling (804) 497-7100 Monday through Friday, from 8:00 am to 5:00 pm, EST.

      The Customer Service Center is also open on Saturday, from 8:00 am to 12:00 pm, EST. The toll-free number for automated transactions is 1-888-337-4782The Virginia Department of Motor Vehicles is closed during all state holidays.

      You can also contact the Virginia DMV Driver Support Work Center for questions regarding self-certification and other CDL related matters. Their phone number is (804) 367-1772. If you wish to send the Driver Support Work Center an email, you can do so at dlworkcenter@dmv.virginia.gov.

The CDL Knowledge Tests

      The CDL knowledge written tests are administered at the Virginia Customer Service Centers in English or Spanish on a computer. The Hazardous Materials endorsement test is given in English only. All commercial driver’s license applicants must pass the general knowledge written test in order to be eligible to receive a CDL. 

      The CDL general knowledge test consists of 50 questions in multiple choice form. In order to receive a passing score, each applicant is required to answer at least 80% of the questions correctly in the time allotted for that test. All knowledge tests require a score of at least 80% to pass. Any applicant that exceeds the time limit or incorrectly answers too many questions on the general knowledge test will fail.

      Any applicant that uses any kind of test aid during the test will automatically fail the test. Anyone caught talking to another person during the test will automatically fail the test. Use of cell phones and camera devices is prohibited in the testing area. All applicants should arrive at the Customer Service Center at least one hour prior to closing when taking the knowledge tests. 

      Applicants are permitted to take the knowledge tests once per day and must pay a $2 retest fee if they retake the test within 15 days. Any applicant that fails the general knowledge exam three times will be required to complete the classroom training at a Driver Training School for commercial motor vehicles certified by the state of Virginia.

      Once the classroom training is complete, the applicant must then bring their certificate of completion to a Customer Service Center where they will be eligible for re-examination. The applicant must have completed the classroom training course after the date of the third exam failure. 

      Once you successfully pass the CDL general knowledge written test, the Virginia Department of Motor Vehicles will issue you a commercial learner’s permit so that you can practice operating a commercial motor vehicle. You may only operate a CMV under the supervision of a front seat passenger who is at least 21 years old and carries a valid Virginia CDL of the same class or greater than the class of vehicle you are operating. You may not operate any vehicle that is transporting materials deemed hazardous. 

      Over 60% of first time CDL applicants fail the knowledge test! Be sure to download and study the Virginia Commercial Driver’s Manual, as it contains the information you need to pass the CDL knowledge tests, including some sample test questions.  Also, be sure to take the Commercial Driver’s License Sample Knowledge Exam online. 

      Our Free CDL Practice Tests will help prepare you for the actual CDL knowledge tests administered by the DMV.

      Click here to see the map and clickable list of Virginia Customer Service Centers that administer the CDL written knowledge tests.

Applying for a Virginia Commercial Driver’s License

      In order to obtain a commercial driver’s license in the state of Virginia, you must:

  • Possess a valid Virginia commercial learner’s permit for at least 30 days (14 days if you currently hold a CDL).
  • Provide proof that you have previously held a CDL if you are not a first time applicant.
  • Possess a valid Virginia Class D driver’s license.
  • Be able to read and speak the English language at a proficient level.
  • Possess a current D.O.T. card (cannot be more than 2 years old).
  • Provide proof of vehicle insurance and vehicle registration (must be verified before you can take the test).
  • Self-certify that you intend to drive a CMV in either intrastate commerce or interstate commerce.
  • Certify that your privilege to drive any motor vehicle is not currently suspended, revoked, canceled, or disqualified anywhere.
  • Provide a test vehicle of the same class as the CDL you are testing for that has passed inspection.
  • Provide a passenger that is 21 years of age or older with a valid Virginia CDL to ride with you in your test vehicle to the test location.
  • Schedule an appointment for the CDL Skills Test.
  • Pass the CDL Skills Test.
  • Pay the $8.00 per year fee for the eight-year commercial driver’s license (the fee is $8.00 per year for a CDL renewal).
  • Pay the $1.00 per year fee for each CDL endorsement (the HAZMAT endorsement must be renewed every five years).
  • Pay the $83.00 fee for the Hazardous Materials (HAZMAT) background check and fingerprinting service (HazMat endorsement only).
  • Have your photo taken for the commercial driver’s license.

The CDL Skills Test

      Once you have held your commercial learner’s permit for at least 30 days (14 days if you currently hold a CDL), you will be allowed to take the CDL Skills Test. Any first-time applicant who has completed a Virginia approved commercial driver’s license driver education course can take their Skills Test within 14 days. The Skills Test can be taken at any DMV Customer Service Center that conducts the Skills Test.

      The CDL Skills Test is given by appointment only. Walk-ins are not permitted. To schedule a test appointment, contact a DMV Customer Service Center that conducts the Skills Test. To see if the Customer Service Center nearest you conducts the CDL Skills Test, contact the Virginia Department of Motor Vehicles Customer Service Center by dialing (804) 497-7100 Monday through Friday, from 8:00 am to 5:00 pm, EST. The Customer Service Center is also open on Saturday, from 8:00 am to 12:00 pm, EST. The Virginia Department of Motor Vehicles is closed during all state holidays.

      The CDL Skills Test is a three part test that consists of a Pre-trip Inspection, a Basic Vehicle Controls Test, and an On-Road Driving Test. The entire three-part test should take approximately 90 minutes to complete. You will be required to take the test in the same class and type of motor vehicle that you plan to drive once you obtain your CDL.

      If you take the CDL Skills Test in a commercial motor vehicle that is not equipped with air brakes, then you will have an air brakes restriction attached to your commercial driver’s license.  If you fail any one part of the CDL Skills Test, you will be required to retake the entire test again. Only one CDL Skills Test can be taken per day.

      While there is no fee to take the Skills Test at a DMV Customer Service Center, the Virginia DMV charges a $50 fee for all no-show Skills Test appointments. If you feel that you will be unable to make it to your Skills Test appointment, you must cancel your test appointment at least 24 hours in advance, or you will be billed for the $50 no-show fee.

  • Pre-trip Inspection: Before you can take the CDL driving tests, you will first be tested on your knowledge of the class of vehicle you plan on driving once you obtain your CDL. The Pre-trip inspection also determines if your commercial vehicle is safe enough to drive on public roads. If you fail the Pre-trip Inspection, you may not be allowed to take the Road Skills Test. 
  • Basic Controls Test: Before you can take the Road Skills Test, you will first need to prove that you have the skills to operate a commercial motor vehicle on public roads. This test consists of various off-road maneuvers such as backing up your vehicle, moving your vehicle forward, and making turns within a defined area. 
  • Road Skills Test: Once you pass the first two tests, you will be required to drive your commercial vehicle on public roads in various traffic situations. You will be required to operate the same class of commercial vehicle you plan to drive once you obtain your CDL.

      The Basic Controls Test will most likely include the following maneuvers:

  • 90 degree alley docking
  • Straight line backing
  • Parallel parking (driver side)
  • Parallel parking (conventional)
  • Offset back to the right
  • Offset back to the left

      The Road Skills Test will be administered on a route predetermined by the examiner. The test route will most likely include the following:

  • Starting
  • Stopping
  • Braking
  • Turning
  • Observing traffic signs
  • Observing traffic signals
  • Observing other traffic
  • Using vehicle controls
  • Maintaining proper lane positions
  • Downgrades
  • Downgrade stopping
  • Upgrades
  • Upgrade stopping
  • Railroad crossings
  • Bridge clearance
  • Underpass clearance
  • General observance of traffic laws
  • General safe driving practices for trucks or buses

     On the day of your CDL Skills Test appointment you must:

  1. Arrive on time.
  2. Bring your validated commercial learner’s permit.
  3. Bring your valid D.O.T. medical card (cannot be more than 2 years old).
  4. Bring a passenger (age 21 or older) that is qualified to drive a CMV with the same class of CDL or greater than the test vehicle.
  5. Bring a test vehicle that is the same class of license that you are testing for and that has passed inspection.

      Failure to do any of the above may result in an immediate cancellation of your CDL Skills Test appointment! The Virginia Department of Motor Vehicles advises applicants to schedule their Skills Test appointment a few weeks in advance and to arrive early for their test appointment.

      If you decide to cancel your Skills Test appointment, you must cancel the appointment no later than 24 hours in advance, or the Virginia DMV will bill you for the $50 no-show fee! If you do not pay the $50 no-show fee within 31 days, you will be billed an extra $10 and you will not be allowed to process any DMV-related transactions until the fee is paid in full!

      The Virginia Department of Motor Vehicles has the right to cancel any CDL Skills Test appointment due to bad weather, under sourced staffing, or any other unforseen circumstances. Be sure to call the Customer Service Center on the day of your Skills Test to see if your appointment has been cancelled.

      If you fail the Road Skills Test three times, you will be required to complete the in-vehicle training of a Driver Training School for commercial motor vehicles certified by the state of Virginia. Once the in-vehicle training is complete, you will be required to bring the certificate of completion to a DMV Customer Service Center where you will be eligible for re-examination. You must have completed the classroom training course after the date of the third test failure. 

      Be sure to download and study the Virginia Commercial Driver’s Manual and the Vehicle Inspection Study Guides (cannot be used during the test), as they contain pertinent information that will help you pass the CDL Skills Test. 

      Click here to see the map and clickable list of Virginia Customer Service Center locations.

Commercial Driver Self-Certification

      In the state of Virginia, all commercial driver’s license holders must self-certify as to what type of driving they will be doing (intrastate or interstate), and whether they meet or exceed the medical and physical standards put forth by the Federal Motor Carrier Safety Administration to legally and safely operate a commercial motor vehicle. All CDL applicants must self-certify once they obtain their commercial driver’s license.   

      You are required to self-certify whenever you:

  • Apply for a commercial driver’s license.
  • Renew a commercial driver’s license.
  • Apply for a higher class of commercial driver’s license.
  • Apply for a new CDL endorsement.
  • Transfer a commercial driver’s license from another state.

       All commercial drivers who intend to operate a commercial motor vehicle for the following purposes only, do not require a commercial driver’s license and are considered “exempt” and therefore are waived from self-certification:

  • Persons operating Special Purpose Commercial vehicle with a GVWR of 26,000 lbs. or less. 
  • Fire and emergency vehicles used to preserve life and property or to carry out governmental operations.
  • Vehicles operated by non-civilian operators of military equipment.
  • Recreational vehicles that are being used for personal recreational use only.
  • Any farm vehicle used to transport agricultural products, farm machinery, or farm supplies within 150 air-miles of the owner’s farm and not used in the operation of a common or contract motor carrier.

      If you intend to operate a commercial motor vehicle for any other purpose than those listed above, then you are considered “non-exempt” and are required to hold a valid CDL and must self-certify. You may also need to provide a current Medical Examiner’s Certificate.

      If you operate a commercial motor vehicle in either intrastate or interstate commerce solely for the following purposes, then you are under “excepted” status, and therefore do not need to provide a Medical Examiner’s Certificate:

  • Transporting school children and/or school staff members between home and school.
  • Operating any vehicle as an employee of either Federal, State, or Local government.
  • Operating fire and rescue vehicles for emergency purposes and other related events.
  • Transporting sick, injured, or deceased persons.
  • Primarily transporting propane heating fuel when responding to an emergency condition requiring an immediate response.
  • When responding to a pipeline emergency requiring an immediate response such as a pipeline leak or rupture.
  • When custom harvesting on a farm or to haul farm machinery and supplies to and from a farm or when transporting crops between a farm and a market or storage facility.
  • When operating a farm vehicle that is not a combo vehicle (power unit and towed unit), and is used to haul agricultural products, farm supplies (cannot be materials deemed hazardous), or farm machinery to and from a farm and within 150 air miles of the farm.
  • Transporting bees as an apiarist during beekeeping season.
  • When transporting migrant workers.
  • As a private motor carrier of passengers for non-business activities.

      If you intend to operate a commercial motor vehicle for any other purpose than those listed above, then you operate in either “non-excepted” interstate commerce, “non-excepted” intrastate commerce, or both. You are considered a “non-excepted” interstate driver if you:

  1. Cross Virginia state lines while operating a commercial vehicle.
  2. Transport any cargo that originated from outside the state of Virginia or is headed to a destination that is outside the state of Virginia.

      You are considered a”non-excepted” intrastate driver if you:

  1. Operating a commercial vehicle within the state of Virginia only.
  2. Transport any cargo that originated within the state of Virginia and is headed to a destination within Virginia state lines.

      “Non excepted” interstate drivers and “non-excepted” intrastate drivers must submit a current Medical Examiner’s Certificate along with a completed and signed copy of the Commercial Driver’s Self-Certification Form. drivers can submit their Medical Examiner’s Certificate online using the Secure File Transfer Portal (please refer to the Getting Started! Instruction Sheet for more details). Please make sure your files are in PDF, JPEG, or BMP format before uploading. The Medical Examiner’s Certificate cannot expire within 60 days from the date of submission.

      All “excepted” interstate drivers and “excepted” intrastate drivers must complete, sign, and submit the Commercial Driver’s Self-Certification Form. “Excepted” drivers do not have to submit a Medical Examiner’s Certificate, but may still have to undergo a physical examination. All commercial drivers, no matter what their self-certification status is, can submit their documents by mail, fax, or in person. You can check out a template of the Medical Examiner’s Certificate here if you’re not sure how to fill it out.

      If you have any questions regarding self-certification, you can speak to a customer service representative at the Virginia DMV Driver Support Work Center by calling (804) 367-1772. Please have your commercial driver’s license number readily available when you callYou can also email the Driver Support Work Center at dlworkcenter@dmv.virginia.gov.

      For more information about the Medical Examiner’s Certificate, please continue reading below.

Medical Examination Report for Commercial Driver’s License

      All CDL applicants must have the Medical Examiner’s Certificate and the Medical Examination Report completed by one of the following:

  • Licensed U.S. doctor of medicine (M.D.)
  • Doctor of Osteopathy (D.O)
  • Licensed physician assistant (P.A.)
  • Advanced practice registered nurse
  • Chiropractor

      The Medical Examiner’s Certificate must be attached to the Medical Examination Report and dated within the previous two years if you are renewing your commercial driver’s license. If you are a first time CDL applicant submitting your Medical Examiner’s Certificate, then the certificate must not expire within 60 days from the date of submission.

      The Virginia Department of Motor Vehicles will only accept your medical forms if they have been completed by a qualified physician who has been certified by the Federal Motor Carrier Safety Administration. You can search for a FMCSA certified physician by using the National Registry of Certified Medical Examiners.

      The FMSCA requires you to have at least 20/40 vision in each eye and a field of vision of at least 140 degrees (70 degrees in each eye) in order to be certified to operate a commercial motor vehicle. Under certain conditions, you may be able to be waived from these and other medical requirements.    

      Once you have completed and signed the Medical Examiner’s Certificate, the Medical Examination Report, the Commercial Driver’s Self-Certification Form, and any applicable medical waivers, you can submit your documents by doing any of the following:

                              Virginia Department of Motor Vehicles 
                              Driver Support 
                              P.O. Box 27412 
                              Richmond, Virginia 23269-0001        

      Please note that depending on which box you check off on the Commercial Driver’s Self-Certification Form, you may be required to submit your documents in person at a DMV Customer Service Center, and therefore, cannot mail, fax, or upload your documents. Please refer to the submission instructions on the form for details.

      Please include your name, address, and contact number on all mailings, faxes, and uploads. If you scan and upload your documents, the medical examiner’s signature must be visible. If you are scanning and uploading your documents using the Secure File Transfer Portal, please read the Getting Started! Instruction Sheet first. 

      Make sure your information is legible and be sure to double check and, if needed, correct any errors before submitting your documents. All CDL applicants are advised to keep copies of these documents for their own records. Failure to comply with state and federal self-certification regulations will result in a suspension or cancellation of your commercial driving privileges.

         If you have any questions regarding self-certification, you can speak to a customer service representative at the Virginia DMV Driver Support Work Center by calling (804) 367-1772. Please have your commercial driver’s license number readily available when you callYou can also email the Driver Support Work Center at dlworkcenter@dmv.virginia.gov.

Hazmat Endorsement

      Any person that is applying for a Hazardous Materials CDL endorsement is required to undergo a federal background check and federal fingerprint check according to guidelines set by the Transportation Security Administration. All applicants must also provide the required documents to verify their identification and legal U.S. status. For more information, check out the Transportation Security Administration’s F.A.Q. page.

      You can apply for the security threat assessment on the TSA Hazardous Material Endorsement Enrollment Website. You must begin applying at least 30 days before the expiration of your CDL. You can start the application process on the HTAP Online Application Website. To apply by phone call (855) 347-8371. Use the TSA Enrollment Center Locator to find the nearest TSA approved fingerprint office. The state of Virginia charges a fee of $83.00 for the Hazardous Materials endorsement background check and fingerprinting service.

Military Drivers

      In the state of Virginia, if you are currently serving in the military or have been honorably discharged within the last 90 days, and you have driven military vehicles that would require a CDL to operate as a civilian with a 2 year safe driving record, then you may qualify for the waiver of the CDL Skills Test and may be exempt from taking the commercial driver skills test. You will still be required to take the written tests. Certain restrictions apply. Download, print, and complete the Application for Military Skills Test Waiver to start the process. 

      If you have any questions about the Application for Military Skills Test Waiver, you can speak to a customer service representative at the Virginia Department of Motor Vehicles Customer Service Center by calling (804) 497-7100 Monday through Friday, from 8:00 am to 5:00 pm, EST. The Customer Service Center is also open on Saturday, from 8:00 am to 12:00 pm, EST. The toll-free number for automated transactions is 1-888-337-4782. The Virginia Department of Motor Vehicles is closed during all state holidays.

      You can also contact the Virginia DMV Driver Support Work Center for questions regarding self-certification and other CDL related matters. Their phone number is (804) 367-1772. If you wish to send the Driver Support Work Center an email, you can do so at dlworkcenter@dmv.virginia.gov.

Virginia CDL Endorsements

      H      Placarded Hazmat      Required to transport hazardous materials under DOT regulations. 

      N      Tank Vehicles      Required to transport liquids in bulk containers of 1,000 gallons or more.

      X      Tanker/Hazardous Materials Combination   Required to transport hazardous materials in tank vehicles   

      T      Double/Triple Trailers      Indicates CDL holder is certified to operate multiple trailer haulers. 

      P     Passengers      Indicates the CDL holder is certified to operate passenger vehicles.

      S     School Bus      Indicates the CDL holder is authorized to operate a school bus.  

Virginia CDL Restrictions

      B      Corrective Lenses

      J      School Bus/Activity Bus Only

      K      No Air Brakes 

      L      Intrastate Only

      M      Except Class A Passenger Bus

      N      Except Class A or Class B Passenger Bus

      O      Except Tractor Trailer

      Q      Except School Bus or Activities Bus

      V      Medical Variance

      Z      No Full Air Brakes

Methods of Payment

      All Virginia DMV Customer Service Centers accept the following methods of payment:

  • Cash
  • Checks
  • Electronic Checks
  • Money Orders
  • Check Cards 
  • American Express
  • Discover
  • MasterCard
  • Visa

      Please make checks payable to “Virginia Department of Motor Vehicles”. Payments may be mailed to:

                           Virginia Department of Motor Vehicles
                           P.O. Box 27412
                           Richmond, VA 23269

      All fees are non-refundable and are subject to change without notice. Please look over the Virginia DMV Fees Chart for important details on certain methods of payment.

Important Virginia Commercial Driver’s License Resources 

Virginia Commercial Driver’s Manual
Virginia Motor Carrier Manual
Virginia CDL Practice Tests
Vehicle Inspection Study Guides
myDMV Account Online Portal
Getting Started! Instruction Sheet for using the Secure File Transfer Portal
Secure File Transfer Portal
Document Guide for Driver’s License and ID Cards
Driver’s License and Identification Card Application
Obtaining a Virginia Driver’s License or Identification (ID) Card Information Sheet
Obtención de una Licencia de Conducir o una tarjeta de Identificación (ID) de Virginia Hoja de Información
Supplemental Driver’s Licensing History Sheet
Conditions of Variance for CDL Driver to Haul Hazardous Materials
Application for CDL Disability Waiver or Hazardous Materials Variance
Virginia DMV Fees Chart
Application for Military Skills Test Waiver
Medical Examiner’s Certificate Template
Commercial Driver’s Self-Certification Form
Medical Examination Report Form 649-F
Medical Examiner’s Certificate
National Registry of Certified Medical Examiners

 

      Check out our list of truck driving schools in Virginia that will provide you with the necessary skills to obtain your commercial driver’s license and start your career in the exciting field of commercial truck driving! You may also want to check out our nationwide list of truck driving schools. 

If you found this article helpful, feel free to share it on Google Plus and Facebook using the buttons below.

 

Map of Virginia Customer Service Centers

TitleAddress
1. Abingdon CSC 25552 Lee Hwy, Abingdon, VA 24211-7466
2. Alexandria CSC 2681 Mill Road, Alexandria, VA 22314-4680
3. Altavista CSC 1301-H Main Street, Altavista,VA 24517-1134
4. Arlington CSC 4150 S. Four Mile Run Drive, Arlington, VA 22206-1106
5. Bedford CSC 1629 Forest Road, Bedford, VA 24523-2307
6. Bristol CSC 21341 Old Dominion Road, Bristol, VA 24202-4209
7. Charlottesville CSC 2055 Abbey Road, Charlottesville, VA 22911-3540
8. Chesapeake CSC 813 Greenbrier Pkwy, Chesapeake, VA 23320-3647
9. Chester CSC 12100 Branders Creek Drive, Chester, VA 23831-1499
10. Chesterfield CSC 610 Johnston Willis Drive, Richmond, VA 23236-3949
11. Christiansburg CSC 385 Arbor Drive, Christiansburg, VA 24073-6577
12. Clintwood CSC 2311 Dickenson Hwy, Clintwood, VA 24228-6020
13. Courtland CSC 27426 Southampton Pkwy, Courtland, VA 23837-2117
14. Covington CSC 810 Grayson Avenue, Covington, VA 24426-6353
15. Culpeper CSC 18505 Crossroad Pkwy, Culpeper, VA 22701-3791
16. Danville CSC 600 Cleveland Street, Danville, VA 24541-1634
17. East Henrico CSC 5517 S. Laburnum Avenue, Richmond, VA 23231-4430
18. Emporia CSC 103 Commonwealth Blvd, Emporia, VA 23847-1225
19. Fair Oaks Mall CSC 11805 Fair Oaks Mall, Fairfax, VA 22033
20. Fairfax / Westfields CSC 14950 Northridge Drive, Chantilly, VA 20151-3809
21. Farmville CSC 300 N. Virginia Street, Farmville, VA 23901-1424
22. Fort Lee CSC 1321 Battle Drive, Fort Lee, VA 23801
23. Franconia CSC 6306 Grovedale Drive, Alexandria, VA 22310-2551
24. Fredericksburg CSC 5700 Southpoint Centre Blvd, Fredericksburg, VA 22407-2601
25. Front Royal CSC 15 Water Street, Front Royal, VA 22630-3070
26. Galax CSC 7565 Carrollton Pike, Galax,VA 24333-4269
27. Gate City CSC 382 Jones Street, Suite 101, Gate City, VA 24251
28. Gloucester CSC 2348 York Crossing Drive, Hayes, Va 23072
29. Hampton CSC 8109 Roanoke Avenue, Hampton, VA 23605-1637
30. Harrisonburg CSC 3281 Peoples Drive, Harrisonburg, VA 22801-7600
31. Hopewell CSC 4401 Crossings Blvd, Prince George, VA 23875-1455
32. Jonesville CSC 195 Hill Street, Jonesville, VA 24263-7835
33. Kilmarnock CSC 110 DMV Drive, Kilmarnock, VA 22482-3843
34. Lebanon CSC 567 W. Main Street, Lebanon, VA 24266
35. Leesburg CSC 945 Edwards Ferry Road NE, Leesburg, VA 20176-3301
36. Lexington CSC The Summit Square Business Center, 110 Walker Street, Lexington, VA 24450-2432
37. Lorton CSC 7714 Gunston Plaza, Lorton, VA 22079
38. Lynchburg CSC 3236 Odd Fellows Road, Lynchburg, VA 24501-5012
39. Manassas CSC 9800 Godwin Drive, Manassas, VA 20110-4105
40. Marion CSC 1595 N. Main Street, Marion, VA 24354-4317
41. Martinsville CSC 310 Starling Avenue, Martinsville, VA 24112-3730
42. Newport News CSC 12730 Patrick Henry Drive, Newport News, VA 23602-9515
43. Norfolk / Military Circle CSC 5745 Poplar Hall Drive, Norfolk, VA 23502-3813
44. Norfolk / Widgeon CSC 850 Widgeon Road, Norfolk, VA 23513-3041
45. North Henrico CSC 9015 Brook Road, Glen Allen, VA 23060-4029
46. Norton CSC 1729 Park Avenue SW, Norton, VA 24273-1608
47. Onancock CSC 20 N. Street, Onancock,VA 23417-1920
48. Petersburg CSC 120 Wagner Road, Petersburg, VA 23805-9303
49. Portsmouth CSC 6400 Bickford Pkwy, Portsmouth,VA 23703-2900
50. Pulaski CSC 1901 Bobwhite Blvd, Pulaski, VA 24301-4233
51. Richmond Central CSC 2300 W. Broad Street, Richmond, VA 23269
52. Roanoke CSC 5220 Valleypark Drive, Roanoke, VA 24019
53. Rocky Mount CSC 305 Tanyard Road, Rocky Mount, VA 24151-1531
54. Smithfield CSC 912 S. Church Street, Smithfield, VA 23430-1716
55. South Boston CSC 2039 Hamilton Blvd, South Boston, VA 24592-2141
56. South Hill CSC 206 S. Brunswick Avenue, South Hill, VA 23970-2518
57. Stafford CSC 874 Garrisonville Road, Stafford, VA 22554-3901
58. Staunton CSC 17 1st Street, Staunton, VA 24401-5532
59. Sterling CSC 100 Free Court, Sterling, VA 20164-3201
60. Suffolk CSC 268 Holladay Street, Suffolk, VA 23434-3815
61. Tappahannock CSC 750 Richmond Beach Road, Tappahannock, VA 22560-5001
62. Tazewell CSC 953 Tazewell Avenue, Tazewell, VA 24651-1222
63. Tysons CSC 1968 Gallows Road, Vienna, VA 22182-3909
64. Vansant CSC 1657 Lover's Gap Road, Vansant, VA 24656
65. Virginia Beach / Buckner CSC 3551 Buckner Blvd, Virginia Beach, VA 23453-5101
66. Virginia Beach / Hilltop CSC 1712 Donna Drive, Virginia Beach, VA 23454-4539
67. Warrenton CSC 94 Alexandria Pike, Warrenton, VA 20186-2808
68. Waynesboro CSC 998 Hopeman Pkwy, Waynesboro, VA 22980-1824
69. West Henrico CSC 9237 Quioccasin Road, Richmond, VA 23229-5425
70. Williamsburg CSC 952 Capitol Landing Road, Williamsburg, VA 23185-4327
71. Winchester CSC 4050 Valley Pike, Winchester, VA 22602-2457
72. Woodbridge CSC 2731 Caton Hill Road, Woodbridge, VA 22192-4116
73. Woodstock CSC 714-A N. Main Street, Woodstock, VA 22664-1816
74. Wytheville CSC 800 E. Main Street, Suite 100, Wytheville, VA 24382

 

Please call the Virginia Department of Motor Vehicles Customer Service Center by dialing (804) 497-7100 Monday through Friday, from 8:00 am to 5:00 pm, EST to find out which Customer Service Center locations offer the CDL Skills Test.

Some CDL testing locations require you to set up an appointment. CDL testing hours may vary. Please call the testing location for more information.

 

Please Note: Some of the documents linked on this page are in the Adobe Portable Document Format, also known as “PDF.” Adobe Acrobat Reader is required to view, fill out and print forms. If you have problems with Adobe Acrobat Reader, see the Adobe Troubleshooting page for possible solutions.

Copyright © 2017 Truck Driving Schools Info. All Rights Reserved | Home | Contact | About | Terms | Privacy

Virginia CDL Requirements
5 (100%) 1 vote