Missouri CDL Requirements
Missouri CDL Classes
You must be at least 18 years old to operate a commercial motor vehicle within the state of Missouri (intrastate) and at least 21 years of age to drive a commercial motor vehicle across Missouri state lines (interstate). You must also be at least 21 years old to transport materials that are deemed hazardous and require a placard. You need a Missouri CDL in order to operate either commercial or non-commercial motor vehicles that fall into the following categories:
Any combination of vehicles with a Gross Vehicle Weight Rating of 26,001 pounds or more, provided that the gross vehicle weight rating of the towed vehicle is in excess of 10,000 pounds.
Any single vehicle with a Gross Vehicle Weight Rating of 26,001 or more pounds, as well as any vehicle towing another vehicle that does not exceed a weight of 10,000 pounds.
Any vehicle or combination of vehicles that does not meet the criteria of either Class A or Class B, but is designed to transport 16 or more passengers (including the driver), or is used in transporting materials classified as hazardous in the Hazardous Materials Transportation Act. Each applicant must also have a passenger or hazardous materials endorsement in order to obtain a Class C commercial driver’s license.
Applying for a Missouri Commercial Learner’s Permit
You must already possess a Missouri commercial learner’s permit (CLP) before you can take the CDL Road Test. Before applying for a Missouri commercial learner’s permit, you must already possess a valid Missouri Class D driver’s license. You will be issued a Missouri commercial driver’s license (CDL) when you pass both the written general knowledge test and the CDL Skills Test.
In order to obtain a Missouri commercial learner’s permit, you must:
- Be at least 18 years old for intrastate driving (within the state of Missouri).
- Be at least 21 years of age for interstate driving (outside the state of Missouri).
- Be at least 21 years of age to transport materials deemed hazardous.
- Possess a valid Missouri Class D driver’s license.
- Provide your Social Security card.
- Prove you are of legal U.S. status by providing the required documents .
- Provide proof of your current Missouri residency that shows your name and address (i.e., a utility bill, vehicle registration, etc.).
- Provide your current D.O.T. Medical Examiner’s Certificate and completed Medical Examination Report (cannot be more than 2 years old).
- Provide your completed and signed Missouri CDL Medical Self-Certification Form.
- Complete, sign, and submit the Missouri Mail-In Driver License Application.
- Pass the CDL general knowledge written test.
- Pay any CDL written test fees.
- Pay the $25 CDL application fee.
- Pay the $7.50 fee for the commercial learner’s permit.
If you have any questions about which documents to bring to your local Missouri State Highway Patrol Driver Examination Station when you apply for your commercial learner’s permit, you can call the Missouri Driver License Bureau at (573) 751-4600 and speak to a customer service representative or, you can email your questions to firstname.lastname@example.org.
The CDL Written Tests
All commercial driver’s license applicants must pass the general knowledge written test in order to be eligible to receive a CDL. All CDL knowledge tests are administered in English in either written form. In order to receive a passing score, each applicant is required to answer at least 80% of the questions correctly. All written tests require a score of at least 80% to pass.
Over 60% of first time CDL applicants fail the written test! Be sure to download the Complete CDL Practice Test Study Package, as it contains practice tests containing questions and answers specifically designed to help you pass the actual CDL written tests administered by the DMV. You may also want to download the Complete CDL Cheat Sheet Study Package as it includes a collection of study guides with key information designed to help you rapidly learn all the sections of the CDL manual you must know in order to pass the CDL written exams.
Our Free CDL Permit Tests will help prepare you for the actual CDL knowledge tests administered by the DMV.
Once you successfully pass the CDL written tests and pay the required fees, you will be issued a commercial learner’s permit. The commercial learner’s permit will be valid for up to six months from the date it is issued. If you do not successfully pass the CDL Skills Test and obtain your commercial driver’s license before your commercial learner’s permit expires, then you will be forced to repeat the entire process.
The CDL written tests are administered at the Missouri MSHP Driver Examination Stations.
Applying for a Missouri Commercial Driver’s License
In order to obtain a Missouri CDL, you must:
- Possess a valid Missouri commercial learner’s permit (CLP).
- Possess a valid Missouri Class D driver’s license.
- Possess a current D.O.T. card (cannot be more than 2 years old).
- Provide proof of vehicle insurance and vehicle registration (must be verified before you can take the test).
- Provide a test vehicle of the same class as the CDL you are testing for (must display a valid inspection sticker).
- Provide a passenger with a valid Missouri CDL to ride with you in your test vehicle to the test location.
- Pass the CDL Skills Test.
- Pay any CDL Skills Test fees.
- Pay the $22.50 fee for the commercial driver’s license (3 year CDL).
- Pay the $45 fee for the commercial driver’s license (6 year CDL).
The CDL Road Test
The CDL Skills Test consists of a Pre-trip Inspection, a Basic Vehicle Controls Test, and an On-Road Driving Test, and must be taken in the same class and type of motor vehicle you plan to drive once you obtain your CDL. If you take the CDL Skills Test in a commercial motor vehicle that is not equipped with air brakes, then you will have an air brakes restriction attached to your commercial driver’s license.
- Pre-trip Inspection: Before you can take the CDL driving tests, you will first be tested on your knowledge of the class of vehicle you plan on driving once you obtain your CDL. The Pre-trip inspection also determines if your commercial vehicle is safe enough to drive on public roads.
- Basic Controls Test: Before you can take the CDL Road Test, you will first need to prove that you have the skills to operate a commercial motor vehicle on public roads. This test consists of various off-road maneuvers such as backing up your vehicle.
- Road Skills Test: Once you pass the first two tests, you will be required to drive your commercial vehicle on public roads in various traffic situations. You will be required to operate the same class of commercial vehicle you plan to drive once you obtain your CDL.
The Road Skills Test will be given on a route predetermined by the examiner. The test route may include the following:
- Left turns
- Right turns
- Railway crossings
- Up grades
- Down grades
- Rural roads
- Semi-rural roads
- City streets
- Multi-lane streets
- Expressway driving
- Multi-turn lane manuevers
During the test you will be scored on:
- Lane changes
- Speed control
Since the CDL Skills Test is a three part test, each test phase must be passed in order to move onto the next test phase. If you fail even one phase of the test, then the entire examination will end. You are allowed only one test attempt per day and must start from the very beginning on each attempt.
Be sure to download and study the Missouri Commercial Driver License Manual as it contains pertinent information that will help you pass the CDL Skills Test.
When you are ready to take your CDL Skills Test, you must first schedule an appointment with a local MSHP CDL Skills Test Exam Station. You can schedule your CDL Skills test appointment by phone. You must schedule your CDL Skills Test appointment at least two days in advance.
Please be advised, you must arrive on time to your CDL Skills Test appointment. If for some reason, you are unable to make it to your CDL Skills Test appointment, you can cancel by calling the MSHP CDL Skills Test Exam Station that you scheduled your appointment at and re-schedule a new appointment but, only if you cancel your first appointment at least 48 hours ahead of time.
The Missouri State Highway Patrol has the right to cancel any CDL Road Test appointments due to bad weather, under sourced staffing, or any other unforseen circumstances.
On the day of your CDL Skills Test appointment you must:
- Arrive on time.
- Bring your commercial learner’s permit.
- Bring your valid D.O.T. medical card.
- Bring a passenger qualified to drive a CMV with the same class of CDL or greater than the test vehicle.
- Bring a test vehicle that is the same class of license that you are testing for and that has passed inspection.
- Bring the revenue needed to pay the necessary fees to obtain your commercial driver’s license.
Failure to do any of the above will result in an immediate cancellation of your CDL Skills Test appointment!
Once you pass the CDL Skills Test and pay the required fees, you will obtain your commercial driver’s license. The commercial driver’s license will be valid for up to either three years or six years, based on the applicant’s age or document verification status at the time of the transaction.
Be sure to download and study the Missouri Commercial Driver License Manual, as it contains important information that will help you pass the CDL Skills Test.
Click here to see a map and clickable list of MSHP CDL Skills Test Exam Stations that offer the CDL Skills Test.
Commercial Driver Self-Certification
In the state of Missouri, all commercial driver’s license applicants must self-certify as to what type of driving they will be doing (intrastate or interstate), and if they have met all the FMCSA medical requirements. The state of Missouri is unique when it comes to self-certification, in the sense that, instead of filling out and sending in a separate CDL self-certification form, the driver simply self-certifies on the Missouri Mail-In Driver License Application when they apply for their CDL.
For more details on how to self-certify in the state of Missouri, check out the Missouri CDL Self-Certification Overview and the Missouri CDL Medical Certification Guide. You can also use the CDL-Medical Questions Quiz to learn what your driver status is. The CDL-Medical Questions Quiz is available in two different formats:
- CDL-Medical Questions (for desktop and laptop computers).
- CDL Medical Questions (for smartphones and tablets).
Medical Examination Report for Commercial Driver’s License
- Licensed U.S. doctor of medicine (M.D.)
- Doctor of Osteopathy (D.O)
- Licensed physician assistant (P.A.)
- Advanced practice registered nurse
The Medical Examiner’s Certificate must be dated within the previous two years and attached to the Medical Examination Report. The Missouri Driver License Bureau will only accept your medical forms if they have been completed by a qualified physician who has been certified by the Federal Motor Carrier Safety Administration. You can search for a FMCSA certified physician by using the National Registry of Certified Medical Examiners.
The FMSCA requires you to have at least 20/40 vision in each eye and a field of vision of at least 140 degrees in order to be certified to operate a commercial motor vehicle. Under certain conditions, you may be able to be waived from these and other medical requirements.
Once you have completed and signed the Missouri Mail-In Driver License Application, the Medical Examiner’s Certificate, and the Medical Examination Report, simply mail all three documents, any medical waivers, and a check or money order to cover the cost of any and all applicable fees to:
Driver License Bureau
P.O. Box 200
Jefferson City, MO 65105-0200
Be sure to double check and, if needed, correct your information before you mail your documents. If you still have questions regarding self-certification, you can call the CDL Help Desk at (573) 751-1887 or send an email to the Missouri Driver License Bureau at email@example.com.
Any person that is applying for a Hazardous Materials CDL endorsement is required to undergo a federal background check and federal fingerprint check according to guidelines set by the Transportation Security Administration. All applicants must also provide the required documents to verify their identification and legal U.S. status. For more information, check out the Transportation Security Administration’s F.A.Q. page.
You can apply for the security threat assessment on the TSA Hazardous Material Endorsement Enrollment Website. You must begin applying at least 30 days before the expiration of your CDL. You can start the application process on the HTAP Online Application Website. To apply by phone call (855) 347-8371. Use the TSA Enrollment Center Locator to find the nearest TSA approved fingerprint office.
In the state of Missouri, if you are currently serving in the military or have been honorably discharged within the last 90 days, and you have driven military vehicles that would require a CDL to operate as a civilian with a 2 year safe driving record, then you may qualify for the waiver of the CDL Skills Test and may be exempt from taking the commercial driver skills test. You will still be required to take the written tests. Certain restrictions apply.
Download, print, and complete the Application for Military Skills Test Waiver to start the process. Check out the Missouri Department of Revenue Military Reference Guide which may help answer any questions you may have about the waiver.
If you have any questions about the Military Skills Test Waiver, you can call the Missouri Driver License Bureau at (573) 751-4600 and speak to a customer service representative or, you can email your questions to firstname.lastname@example.org.
Missouri CDL Endorsements
H Placarded Hazmat Required to transport hazardous materials under DOT regulations.
N Tank Vehicles Required to transport liquids in bulk containers of 1,000 gallons or more.
X Tanker/Hazardous Materials Combination Required to transport hazardous materials in tank vehicles
T Double/Triple Trailers Indicates CDL holder is certified to operate multiple trailer haulers.
P Passengers Indicates the CDL holder is certified to operate passenger vehicles.
S School Bus Indicates the CDL holder is authorized to operate a school bus. The “P” endorsement is also required.
Important Missouri Commercial Driver’s License Resources
Complete CDL Practice Test Study Package
Complete CDL Cheat Sheet Study Package
Missouri Mail-In Driver License Application
Commercial Motor Vehicle Operators and the Law Guide
Missouri Department of Revenue Military Reference Guide
Missouri Application for Military Skills Test Waiver
Application for Military Skills Test Waiver
Application for CDL Waiver for Farm-Related Service Industries
Missouri CDL Self-Certification Overview
Missouri CDL Medical Certification Guide
CDL Medical Questions – Desktop and Laptop Computers
CDL Medical Questions – Smartphones and Tablets
Medical Examination Report Form 649-F
Medical Examiner’s Certificate
National Registry of Certified Medical Examiners
Check out our list of truck driving schools in Missouri that will provide you with the necessary skills to obtain your commercial driver’s license and start your career in the exciting field of commercial truck driving! You may also want to check out our nationwide list of truck driving schools.
If you found this article helpful, feel free to share it on Google Plus and Facebook using the buttons below.
Map of Missouri CDL Skills Test Locations
Some CDL testing locations require you to set up an appointment. CDL testing hours may vary. Please call the testing location for more information.
Please Note: Some of the documents linked on this page are in the Adobe Portable Document Format, also known as “PDF.” Adobe Acrobat Reader is required to view, fill out and print forms. If you have problems with Adobe Acrobat Reader, see the Adobe Troubleshooting page for possible solutions.