Mississippi CDL Requirements
Mississippi CDL Classes
You must be at least 18 years old to operate a commercial motor vehicle within the state of Mississippi (intrastate) and at least 21 years of age to drive a commercial motor vehicle across Mississippi state lines (interstate). You must also be at least 21 years old to transport materials that are deemed hazardous and require a placard. You need a Mississippi CDL in order to operate either commercial or non-commercial motor vehicles that fall into the following categories:
Any combination of vehicles with a Gross Vehicle Weight Rating of 26,001 pounds or more, provided that the gross vehicle weight rating of the towed vehicle is in excess of 10,000 pounds.
Any single vehicle with a Gross Vehicle Weight Rating of 26,001 or more pounds, as well as any vehicle towing another vehicle that does not exceed a weight of 10,000 pounds.
Any vehicle or combination of vehicles that does not meet the criteria of either Class A or Class B, but is designed to transport 16 or more passengers (including the driver), or is used in transporting materials classified as hazardous in the Hazardous Materials Transportation Act. Each applicant must also have a passenger or hazardous materials endorsement in order to obtain a Class C commercial driver’s license.
Applying for a Mississippi Commercial Learner’s Permit
You must already possess a Mississippi commercial learner’s permit (CLP) before you can take the CDL Road Test. Before applying for a Mississippi commercial learner’s permit, you must already possess a valid Mississippi Class D driver’s license. You will be issued a Mississippi commercial driver’s license (CDL) when you pass both the written general knowledge test and the CDL Road Test.
In order to obtain a Mississippi commercial learner’s permit, you must:
- Be at least 18 years old for intrastate driving (within the state of Mississippi).
- Be at least 21 years of age for interstate driving (outside the state of Mississippi).
- Be at least 21 years of age to transport materials deemed hazardous.
- Possess a valid Mississippi Class D driver’s license.
- Provide your Social Security card.
- Prove you are of legal U.S. status by providing the required documents .
- Provide proof of your current Mississippi residency that shows your name and address (i.e., a utility bill, vehicle registration, etc.).
- Provide your current D.O.T. Medical Examiner’s Certificate and completed Medical Examination Report (cannot be more than 2 years old).
- Provide your completed and signed Mississippi CDL Medical Self-Certification Affidavit.
- Pass the CDL general knowledge written test.
- Pay the $25 CDL application fee.
- Pay the $16 fee for the commercial learner’s permit.
If you have any questions about which documents to bring to your local Mississippi Driver’s License Station when you apply for your commercial learner’s permit, you can call your local Mississippi Driver’s License Station and speak to a customer service representative or you can email your questions to the Mississippi Department of Public Safety headquarters at firstname.lastname@example.org (address your email to MSgt. Ray Steed).
The CDL Written Tests
All commercial driver’s license applicants must pass the general knowledge written test in order to be eligible to receive a CDL. All CDL knowledge tests are administered in English in either written form. In order to receive a passing score, each applicant is required to answer at least 80% of the questions correctly. All written tests require a score of at least 80% to pass.
Be sure to download and study the Mississippi Professional Driver’s Manual as it contains the information you need to pass the CDL tests, including some sample test questions.
Our Free CDL Practice Tests will help prepare you for the actual CDL knowledge tests administered by the DMV.
Once you successfully pass the CDL written tests and pay the required fees, you will be issued a commercial learner’s permit. The commercial learner’s permit will be valid for up to six months from the date it is issued. If you do not successfully pass the CDL Road Test and obtain your commercial driver’s license before your commercial learner’s permit expires, then you will have to start the entire process over again.
Click here to see a map and clickable list of Mississippi Driver License Stations that offer the CDL written tests.
Get Your CDL in 4 Weeks and Make $40,000 or More Your First Year!
Are you ready to take the next step and begin your career as a well-paid professional truck driver? We’ve partnered with some of the best truck driving schools in the nation and have helped thousands of people just like you find a high quality truck driving school. We’ll make it easy for you to find the right school and get started training immediately.
The schools in our network hold one or more of the following quality standards:
- State Licensure
- PTDI Certification
- Company Sponsored CDL Training
- Nationally Recognized Accreditation
- Job Placement Assistance for Those Who Qualify
Classes are filling up fast, so get started today by filling out the quick 1-minute form below!
Applying for a Mississippi Commercial Driver’s License
In order to obtain a commercial driver’s license in the state of Mississippi, you must:
- Possess a valid Mississippi commercial learner’s permit (CLP).
- Possess a valid Mississippi Class D driver’s license.
- Possess a current D.O.T. card (cannot be more than 2 years old).
- Provide proof of vehicle insurance and vehicle registration (must be verified before you can take the test).
- Provide a test vehicle of the same class as the CDL you are testing for (must display a valid inspection sticker).
- Provide a passenger with a valid Mississippi CDL to ride with you in your test vehicle to the test location.
- Pass the CDL Road Test.
- Pay the $44 fee for the commercial driver’s license.
- Pay the $5 fee for each additional CDL endorsement.
The CDL Road Test
The CDL Road Test consists of a Pre-trip Inspection, a Basic Vehicle Controls Test, and an On-Road Driving Test, and must be taken in the same class and type of motor vehicle you plan to drive once you obtain your CDL. If you take the CDL Road Test in a commercial motor vehicle that is not equipped with air brakes, then you will have an air brakes restriction attached to your commercial driver’s license.
- Pre-trip Inspection: Before you can take the CDL driving tests, you will first be tested on your knowledge of the class of vehicle you plan on driving once you obtain your CDL. The Pre-trip inspection also determines if your commercial vehicle is safe enough to drive on public roads.
- Basic Controls Test: Before you can take the CDL Road Test, you will first need to prove that you have the skills to operate a commercial motor vehicle on public roads. This test consists of various off-road maneuvers such as backing up your vehicle.
- Road Skills Test: Once you pass the first two tests, you will be required to drive your commercial vehicle on public roads in various traffic situations. You will be required to operate the same class of commercial vehicle you plan to drive once you obtain your CDL.
The Road Skills Test will be given on a route predetermined by the examiner. The test route may include the following:
- Left turns
- Right turns
- Railroad crossings
- Rural roads
- Semi-rural roads
- City streets
- Multi-lane streets
- Expressway driving
- Multi-turn lane manuevers
During the test you will be scored on:
- Lane changes
- Speed control
Since the CDL Road Test is a three part test, each test phase must be passed in order to move onto the next test phase. If you fail even one phase of the test, then the entire examination will end. You are allowed only one test attempt per day and must start from the very beginning on each attempt. Be sure to download and study the Mississippi Professional Driver’s Manual as it contains pertinent information that will help you pass the CDL Road Test.
When you are ready to take your CDL Road Test, you must first schedule an appointment with a local Driver License Station that offers CDL testing. You can schedule your CDL Road test appointment either online or by phone. You must schedule your CDL Road Test appointment at least two days in advance.
If, for any reason, you do not appear for your CDL Road Test appointment, you will be forced to wait two weeks before you can schedule another appointment. Please be advised, you must arrive a minimum of fifteen minutes prior to your appointment time or your appointment will be cancelled and you will have to re-schedule.
If, for whatever reason, you will not be able to make it to your CDL Road Test appointment, you can cancel online or by calling the Driver License Station that you scheduled your appointment at and re-schedule a new appointment, but only if you cancel your first appointment at least 48 hours ahead of time. If you do not cancel your CDL Road Test appointment at least 48 hours in advance, then you must call the Driver License Station and cancel your appointment. You cannot cancel your appointment online.
The Mississippi Department of Public Safety has the right to cancel any CDL Road Test appointment due to bad weather, under sourced staffing, or any other unforseen circumstances.
On the day of your CDL Road Test appointment you must:
- Arrive at least fifteen minutes early.
- Bring your commercial learner’s permit.
- Bring your completed and signed CDL Application.
- Bring your valid D.O.T. medical card.
- Bring a passenger qualified to drive a CMV with the same class of CDL or greater than the test vehicle.
- Bring a test vehicle that is the same class of license that you are testing for and that has passed inspection.
- Bring the revenue needed to pay the necessary fees to obtain your commercial driver’s license.
Failure to do any of the above will result in an immediate cancellation of your CDL Road Test appointment!
Click here to see a map and clickable list of Mississippi Driver’s License Stations that offer the CDL Road Test.
Commercial Driver Self-Certification
In the state of Mississippi, all commercial driver’s license applicants must self-certify as to what type of driving they will be doing (intrastate or interstate), and if they have met all the FMCSA medical requirements. You can download and print a copy of the Mississippi CDL Self-Certification Affidavit here.
Be sure to read the Mississippi Self-Certification Categories Information Sheet, Mississippi New Medical Certification Requirements Guide, and the Mississippi New Medical Certification Requirements FAQs to help answer any questions you may have about self-certifying in the state of Mississippi.
Medical Examination Report for Commercial Driver’s License
- Licensed U.S. doctor of medicine (M.D.)
- Doctor of Osteopathy (D.O)
- Licensed physician assistant (P.A.)
- Advanced practice registered nurse
The Medical Examiner’s Certificate must be dated within the previous two years and attached to the Medical Examination Report. The Mississippi Department of Public Safety Driver Services will only accept your medical forms if they have been completed by a qualified physician who has been certified by the Federal Motor Carrier Safety Administration. You can search for a FMCSA certified physician by using the National Registry of Certified Medical Examiners.
The FMSCA requires you to have at least 20/40 vision in each eye and a field of vision of at least 140 degrees in order to be certified to operate a commercial motor vehicle. Under certain conditions, you may be able to be waived from these and other medical requirements.
The state of Mississippi is unique in the sense that they will not allow commercial drivers to fax, mail, or email their medical self-certification documents. For details on how and where to take your medical self-certification documents, call the CDL Help Desk at 601-987-1334 (MSgt. Ray Steed) or 601-987-1245 (Lt. Don McCain). You can also email the CDL Help Desk at email@example.com (address your email to MSgt. Ray Steed) or firstname.lastname@example.org (address your email to Lt. Don McCain).
Any person that is applying for a Hazardous Materials CDL endorsement is required to undergo a federal background check and federal fingerprint check according to guidelines set by the Transportation Security Administration. All applicants must also provide the required documents to verify their identification and legal U.S. status. For more information, check out the Transportation Security Administration’s F.A.Q. page.
You can apply for the security threat assessment on the TSA Hazardous Material Endorsement Enrollment Website. You must begin applying at least 30 days before the expiration of your CDL. You can start the application process on the HTAP Online Application Website. To apply by phone call (855) 347-8371. Use the TSA Enrollment Center Locator to find the nearest TSA approved fingerprint office.
In the state of Mississippi, if you are currently serving in the military or have been honorably discharged within the last 90 days, and you have driven military vehicles that would require a CDL to operate as a civilian with a 2 year safe driving record, then you may qualify for the waiver of the CDL Skills Test and may be exempt from taking the commercial driver skills test. You will still be required to take the written tests. Certain restrictions apply. Download, print, and complete the Application for Military Skills Test Waiver to start the process.
If you have any questions about the Military Skills Test Waiver, you can call your local Mississippi Driver’s License Station and speak to a customer service representative or you can email your questions to the Mississippi Department of Public Safety headquarters at email@example.com (address your email to MSgt. Ray Steed).
Mississippi CDL Endorsements
H Placarded Hazmat Required to transport hazardous materials under DOT regulations.
N Tank Vehicles Required to transport liquids in bulk containers of 1,000 gallons or more.
X Tanker/Hazardous Materials Combination Required to transport hazardous materials in tank vehicles
T Double/Triple Trailers Indicates CDL holder is certified to operate multiple trailer haulers.
P Passengers Indicates the CDL holder is certified to operate passenger vehicles.
S School Bus Indicates the CDL holder is authorized to operate a school bus. The “P” endorsement is also required.
Important Mississippi Commercial Driver’s License Resources
Mississippi Professional Driver’s Manual
Mississippi CDL Practice Tests
Mississippi Department of Public Safety Online Services
Application for Military Skills Test Waiver
Mississippi Self-Certification Categories Information Sheet
Mississippi New Medical Certification Requirements Guide
Mississippi New Medical Certification Requirements FAQs
Mississippi CDL Medical Self-Certification Affidavit
Medical Examination Report Form 649-F
Medical Examiner’s Certificate
National Registry of Certified Medical Examiners
Check out our list of truck driving schools in Mississippi that will provide you with the necessary skills to obtain your commercial driver’s license and start your career in the exciting field of commercial truck driving! You may also want to check out our nationwide list of truck driving schools.
If you found this article helpful, feel free to share it on Google Plus and Facebook using the buttons below.
Map of Mississippi Driver’s License Stations (Please note: only locations with a double asterisk provide CDL testing.)
Title Address 1. Jackson DLS 1101 Metro Center Mall, Suite 1, Jackson, MS 39209 2. Pearl DLS** State Highway Safety Patrol, Troop C Bldg, 3851 Hwy 468, Pearl, MS 39208 3. Vicksburg DLS Juvenile Detention Center, 1100 Grove Street, Suite D, Vicksburg, MS 39183 4. Belzoni DLS Multiplex Bldg, 417 Silver City Road, Belzoni, MS 39038 5. Cleveland DLS Agriculture Center, 406 North Martin Luther King Drive, Cleveland, MS 38733 6. Greenville DLS CDL Office Bldg, 420 Hwy 82 West, Greenville, MS 38731 7. Greenwood DLS 701 Hwy 82 West, Greenwood, MS 38930 8. Grenada DLS 1230 Fairground Street, Grenada, MS 38901 9. Indianola DLS Justice Court Bldg, 202 Main Street, Indianola, MS 38751 10. Kosciusko DLS Attala County Coliseum, 550 Hwy 12 East, Kosciusko, MS 39090 11. Batesville DLS 22000 Hwy 35 North, Suite A, Batesville, MS 38606 12. Clarksdale DLS 236 Sharkey Avenue, Suite 236, Clarksdale, MS 38614 13. Nesbit DLS** 159 License Drive, Nesbit, MS 38651 14. Olive Branch DLS 6569 Cockrum Street, Bldg B, Suite 1, Olive Branch, MS 38654 15. Oxford DLS Hwy 7 South, Oxford, MS 38655 16. Booneville DLS 600 N. 2nd Street, Suite 1, Booneville, MS 38829 17. Burnsville DLS 38 Gross Avenue, Burnsville, MS 38833 18. Corinth DLS Alcorn County Sheriff’s Office, 2759 S. Harper Road, Corinth, MS 38834 19. New Albany DLS** 1103 Bratton Road, New Albany, MS 38652 20. Tupelo DLS** 589 Coley Road, Suite B, Tupelo, MS 38801 21. Amory DLS Monroe County Government Complex Bldg, 1619 Hwy 25 North, Amory, MS 38221 22. Louisville DLS Courthouse, 115 S. Court Street, Louisville, MS 39339 23. Columbus DLS** Columbus-Lowndes County Administrative Bldg, 17 Airline Road, Lowndes, MS 39701 24. Starkville DLS Starkville Substation, 1280 E. Lee Blvd, Starkville, MS 39759 25. West Point DLS Sheriff’s Office, 218 W. Broad Street, Suite C, West Point, MS 38821 26. Meridian DLS 3910 Hwy 11 & 80 East, Meridian, MS 39301 27. Newton DLS** 523 Coliseum Drive, Old Hwy 15 North, Newton, MS 39345 28. Philadelphia DLS 288 W. Beacon Street, Philadelphia, MS 39350 29. Walnut Grove DLS 102 Park Street, Walnut Grove, MS 39189 30. Collins DLS Collins-Covington Courthouse, 101 Dogwood Avenue, Collins, MS 39428 31. Columbia DLS Columbia City Hall, 201 2nd Street, Columbia, MS 39429 32. Hattiesburg DLS** 35 Tatum Drive, Hattiesburg, MS 39401 33. Laurel DLS 130 N. 12th Avenue, Laurel, MS 39443 34. Prentiss DLS Prentiss City Library, 2229 Pearl Street, Prentiss, MS 39474 35. Purvis DLS 99 Central Industrial Road, Purvis, MS 39475 36. Bay St. Louis DLS 3016 Longfellow Road, Bay St. Louis, MS 39520 37. Biloxi DLS** 16741 Hwy 67, Biloxi, MS 39532 38. D’Iberville DLS MEMA Trailer, 10393 Automal Pkwy, D’Iberville, MS 39540 39. Lucedale DLS Senior Citizen Bldg, 7012 Hwy 198 East, Lucedale, MS 39452 40. Gautier DLS 7886 Hwy 57, Vancleave, MS 39565 41. Picayune DLS 7012 Hwy 11 North, Suite C, Carriere, MS 39426 42. Brookhaven DLS** 160 Hwy 84 East, Brookhaven, MS 39601 43. Natchez DLS** 724 Hwy 61 North, Natchez, MS 39120 44. Summit DLS 708 Laurel Street, Summit, MS 39666 45. Tylertown DLS Walthall County Library, 707 Union Road, Tylertown, MS 39667 46. Woodville DLS Wilkinson County Extenstion Office, 982 Second South Street, Woodville, MS 39669 47. Lexington DLS 113 China Street, Lexington, MS 39090 48. Winona DLS Old Justice Court Bldg, 115 N. Quitman Street, Winona, MS 38967 49. Waynesboro DLS Old Hospital, 1100 Cedar Street, Waynesboro, MS 39367
**The CDL Written Tests and CDL Road Test are available at this location.
Some CDL testing locations require you to set up an appointment. CDL testing hours may vary. Please call the testing location for more information.
Please Note: Some of the documents linked on this page are in the Adobe Portable Document Format, also known as “PDF.” Adobe Acrobat Reader is required to view, fill out and print forms. If you have problems with Adobe Acrobat Reader, see the Adobe Troubleshooting page for possible solutions.