Maine CDL Requirements

Maine CDL Classes

      You must be at least 18 years old to operate a commercial motor vehicle within the state of Maine (intrastate) and at least 21 years of age to drive a commercial motor vehicle outside the state of Maine (interstate). You must also be at least 21 years old to transport materials that are deemed hazardous and require a placard. You need a Maine CDL in order to operate either commercial or non-commercial motor vehicles that fall into the following categories:

Class A
      Any combination of vehicles with a Gross Vehicle Weight Rating of 26,001 pounds or more, provided that the gross vehicle weight rating of the towed vehicle is in excess of 10,000 pounds.  

Class B
      Any single vehicle with a Gross Vehicle Weight Rating of 26,001 or more pounds, as well as any vehicle towing another vehicle that does not exceed a weight of 10,000 pounds. 

Class C
      Any vehicle or combination of vehicles that does not meet the criteria of either Class A or Class B, but is designed to transport 16 or more passengers (including the driver), or is used in transporting materials classified as hazardous in the Hazardous Materials Transportation Act. Each applicant must also have a passenger or hazardous materials endorsement in order to obtain a Class C commercial driver’s license. 

Applying for a Maine Commercial Learner’s Permit

      You must already possess a Maine commercial learner’s permit (CLP) before you can take the CDL Skills Test. Before applying for a Maine commercial learner’s permit, you must already possess a valid Maine Class D driver’s license. You will be issued a Maine commercial driver’s license (CDL) when you pass both the written general knowledge test and the CDL Skills Test. 

      In order to obtain a commercial learner’s permit in the state of Maine, you must:

  • Be at least 18 years old for intrastate driving (within the state of Maine).
  • Be at least 21 years of age for interstate driving (outside the state of Maine).
  • Be at least 21 years of age to transport passengers.
  • Be at least 21 years of age to transport materials deemed hazardous.
  • Possess a valid Maine Class D driver’s license for at least one year.
  • Provide your Social Security card.
  • Prove you are of legal U.S. status by providing the required documents.
  • Provide proof of your current Maine residency that shows your name and current address (i.e., a utility bill, vehicle registration, insurance card).
  • Provide your current Medical Examination Report and Medical Examiner’s Certificate (cannot be more than 2 years old).
  • Pass the CDL general knowledge written test. 
  • Pay the $35 application fee for the commercial learner’s permit.

      If you have questions about which documents to bring to your local Office of the Bureau of Motor Vehicles when you apply for your commercial learner’s permit, you may call the Maine Office of the Bureau of Motor Vehicles at (207) 624-9000 and speak to a customer service representative. 

The CDL Written Tests

      All commercial driver’s license applicants must pass the general knowledge written test in order to be eligible to receive a CDL. The test may be either a written test or an oral test (must be requested in advance). In order to receive a passing score, each applicant is required to answer at least 80% of the questions correctly. All written tests require a score of at least 80% to pass. All CDL tests are given in English and readers/translators are allowed. All applicants must pay the application fee and fill out the necessary forms prior to testing.  

      Before you can be eligible for a Maine commercial learner’s permit or commercial driver’s license, you must first complete, sign, and mail the Maine Commercial Driver License Application to:

                          Bureau of Motor Vehicles
                          CDL Section
                          State House Station # 29
                          Augusta, ME 04333 

      Please be sure to include your check or money order (payable to Secretary of State) as well as two forms of identification with your application. A list of acceptable forms of identification is available on the Commercial Driver License Application itself. 

      Once you obtain the commercial learner’s permit, it will be valid for up to 18 months from the date it was issued (12 months for buses and school buses). It is unlawful to operate any class of vehicles that are not covered by your commercial learner’s permit or commercial driver’s license. This includes endorsements that are not covered as well. You can contact the Maine Office of the Bureau of Motor Vehicles by email at cdlcompliance.BMV@maine.gov or by calling them at (207) 624-9000 if you have any questions about the process. 

      Be sure to download and study the Maine Commercial Driver License Manual as it contains the information you need to pass the CDL knowledge tests, including some sample test questions.

      Our Free CDL Practice Tests will help prepare you for the actual CDL knowledge tests administered by the DMV.

      Click here to see a map and clickable list of Maine Offices of the Bureau of Motor Vehicle locations that offer the CDL written tests.    
Maine CDL Requirements

Get Your CDL in 4 Weeks and Make $40,000 or More Your First Year!

Are you ready to take the next step and begin your career as a well-paid professional truck driver? We’ve partnered with some of the best truck driving schools in the nation and have helped thousands of people just like you find a high quality truck driving school. We’ll make it easy for you to find the right school and get started training immediately.

Maine CDL

The schools in our network hold one or more of the following quality standards:

  • State Licensure
  • PTDI Certification
  • Company Sponsored CDL Training
  • Nationally Recognized Accreditation
  • Job Placement Assistance for Those Who Qualify

Classes are filling up fast, so get started today by filling out the quick 1-minute form below! 

 

Applying for a Maine Commercial Driver’s License

      In order to obtain a commercial driver’s license in the state of Maine, you must:

  • Possess a valid Maine commercial learner’s permit.
  • Possess a current Department of Transportation medical card.
  • Provide proof of vehicle insurance and vehicle registration (must be verified before you can take the test).
  • Provide a passenger with a valid Maine CDL to ride with you in your commercial vehicle to the test site.
  • Complete, sign, and submit the Maine  Commercial Driver License Application.
  • Pass the CDL general knowledge written test.
  • Pass the CDL Skills Test.
  • Pay the $35 CDL Skills Test fee.
  • Pay the $34 license fee for the five year commercial driver’s license ($28 if you are age 65 or older).
  • Pay the $10 fee for each additional CDL endorsement.

      The CDL Skills Test consists of a Pre-trip inspection, a Basic Vehicle Control test, and an On-Road Driving test and must be taken in the same class and type of motor vehicle you plan to drive once you obtain your CDL.  If you take the CDL Skills Test in a commercial motor vehicle that is not equipped with air brakes, then you will have an air brakes restriction attached to your commercial driver’s license. 

The CDL Skills Test

      The CDL Skills Test is a three part test and consists of the following:

  • Pre-trip Inspection: Before you can take the CDL driving tests, you will first be tested on your knowledge of the class of vehicle you plan on driving once you obtain your CDL. The Pre-trip inspection also determines if your commercial vehicle is safe enough to drive on public roads.
  • Basic Controls Test: Before you can take the CDL Road Test, you will first need to prove that you have the skills to operate a commercial motor vehicle on public roads. This test consists of various off-road maneuvers such as backing up your vehicle. 
  • Road Skills Test: Once you pass the first two tests, you will be required to drive your commercial vehicle on public roads in various traffic situations. You will be required to operate the same class of commercial vehicle you plan to drive once you obtain your CDL.

      In order to be scheduled for the CDL Skills Test, you are required to mail the skills test request card to:

                         Maine Office of the Bureau of Motor Vehicles
                         29 State House Station
                         Augusta, ME 04333-0029

      Once your request card is processed, an appointment notice will be sent to you in the mail showing the location, date, and time you are to appear for the CDL Skills Test. If you show up late for the examination, the next person in line may take your place, and you may be forced to reschedule.

      If you fail to notify the CDL examination station of a cancellation within 48 hours of your scheduled appointment time, then a penalty fee of $30 will be assessed before another appointment date is scheduled. The CDL Skills Test is not administered on Saturdays, Sundays, or holidays. 

Be sure to download and study the Maine Commercial Driver License Manual as it contains the information you need to pass the CDL Skills Test.

      Click here to see a map and clickable list of Maine Offices of the Bureau of Motor Vehicle locations that offer the CDL Skills Test.

Commercial Driver Self-Certification

      In the state of Maine, all commercial driver’s license applicants must self-certify as to what type of driving they will be doing (intrastate or interstate), and if they have met all the FMCSA medical requirements. You can download and print a copy of the Maine CDL Self-Certification Form here.

Medical Examination Report for Commercial Driver’s License

      In order to apply for a commercial driver’s license, you must have the Medical Examiner’s Certificate and the Medical Examination Report completed by one of the following:

  • Licensed U.S. doctor of medicine (M.D.)
  • Doctor of Osteopathy (D.O)
  • Licensed physician assistant (P.A.)
  • Advanced practice registered nurse
  • Chiropractor

      The Medical Examiner’s Certificate must be dated within the previous two years and attached to the Medical Examination Report (Form 649-F). The Maine Office of the Bureau of Motor Vehicles will only accept your medical forms if they have been completed by a qualified physician who has been certified by the Federal Motor Carrier Safety Administration. You can search for a FMCSA certified physician by using the National Registry of Certified Medical Examiners.

      The FMSCA requires you to have at least 20/40 vision in each eye and a field of vision of at least 140 degrees in order to be certified to operate a commercial motor vehicle. Under certain conditions, you may be able to be waived from these requirements.  Please read page  five of the Maine Commercial Driver License Manual for more information.

      You can submit your completed and signed Medical Examiner’s Certificate and Medical Examination Report (Form 649-F), along with the Maine CDL Medical Self-Certification Form by doing any of the following:

                              Bureau of Motor Vehicles
                              CDL Compliance Unit
                              29 State House Station
                              Augusta, ME 04333-0029

      You can check the status of your medical self-certification by calling the Maine Office of the Bureau of Motor Vehicles at (207) 624-9000

Hazmat Endorsement

      Any person that is applying for a Hazardous Materials CDL endorsement is required to undergo a federal background check and federal fingerprint check according to guidelines set by the Transportation Security Administration. All applicants must also provide the required documents to verify their identification and legal U.S. status. For more information, check out the Transportation Security Administration’s F.A.Q. page.

      You can apply for the security threat assessment on the TSA Hazardous Material Endorsement Enrollment Website. You must begin applying at least 30 days before the expiration of your CDL. You can start the application process on the HTAP Online Application Website. To apply by phone call (855) 347-8371. Use the TSA Enrollment Center Locator to find the nearest TSA approved fingerprint office.

Military Drivers

      In the state of Maine, if you are currently serving in the military or have been honorably discharged within the last 90 days, and you have driven military vehicles that would require a CDL to operate as a civilian with a 2 year safe driving record, then you may qualify for the waiver of the CDL Skills Test and may be exempt from taking the commercial driver skills test. You will still be required to take the written tests. Certain restrictions apply.

      Download, print, and complete the Application for Military Skills Test Waiver to start the process. You can contact the Maine Office of the Bureau of Motor Vehicles by email at cdlcompliance.BMV@maine.gov or by calling them at (207) 624-9000 if you have any questions about the Military Skills Test Waiver program.

Maine CDL Endorsements

      H      Placarded Hazmat      Required to transport hazardous materials under DOT regulations. 

      N      Tank Vehicles      Required to transport liquids in bulk containers of 1,000 gallons or more.

      X      Tanker/Hazardous Materials Combination   Required to transport hazardous materials in tank vehicles   

      T      Double/Triple Trailers      Indicates CDL holder is certified to operate multiple trailer haulers. 

      P     Passengers      Indicates the CDL holder is certified to operate passenger vehicles.

      S     School Bus      Indicates the CDL holder is authorized to operate a school bus. The “P” endorsement is also required.

Important Maine Commercial Driver’s License Resources

Maine Commercial Driver License Manual
Maine CDL Practice Tests
Maine Commercial Driver License Application
Maine BMV Application for Military Skills Test Waiver
Application for Military Skills Test Waiver
Maine CDL Medical Self-Certification Form
Medical Examination Report Form 649-F
Medical Examiner’s Certificate
National Registry of Certified Medical Examiners

 

      Check out our list of truck driving schools in Maine that will provide you with the necessary skills to obtain your commercial driver’s license and start your career in the exciting field of commercial truck driving! You may also want to check out our nationwide list of truck driving schools.

If you found this article helpful, feel free to share it on Google Plus and Facebook using the buttons below.

Map of Maine BMV Office Locations 

TitleAddress
1. Augusta BMV 19 Anthony Avenue, Augusta, ME 04330
2. Bangor BMV 1129 Union Street, Suite 9, Bangor, ME 04401
3. Calais BMV 23 Washington Street, Suite 2, Calais, ME 04619
4. Caribou BMV 14 Access Hwy, Suite 2, ME 04757
5. Ellsworth BMV 24 Church Street, Ellsworth, ME 04605
6. Kennebunk BMV 63 Portland Road, Suite 4, Kennebunk, ME 04043
7. Lewiston BMV 36 Mollison Way, Lewiston, ME 04240
8. Mexico BMV Mexico Shopping Plaza, 110 Main Street, Mexico, ME 04257
9. Portland BMV 125 Presumpscot Street, Suite 4, Portland, ME 04103
10. Rockland BMV 360 Old County Road, Suite 1, Rockland, ME 04841
11. Scarborough BMV 200 Expedition Drive, Suite G, Scarborough, ME 04074
12. Springvale BMV 456 Main Street, Springvale, ME 04083
13. Topsham BMV 49 Topsham Fair Mall Road, Topsham, ME 04086

 Some CDL testing locations require you to set up an appointment. CDL testing hours may vary. Please call the testing location for more information.

 

Map of Maine BMV Mobile Unit Locations

TitleAddress
1. Ashland Mobile BMV Town Office, 17 Bridgham Street, Ashland, ME 04732
2. Belfast Mobile BMV Methodist Church, 23 Mill Lane, Belfast, ME 04915
3. Bingham Mobile BMV Municipal Building, 13 Murray Street, Bingham, ME 04920
4. Bridgeton Mobile BMV Town Office, 10 Iredale Street, Bridgton, ME 04009
5. Danforth Mobile BMV Town Office, 18 Central Street, Danforth, ME 04424
6. Dover-Foxcroft Mobile BMV American Legion Hall, 112 Park Street, Dover-Foxcroft, ME 04426
7. Farmington Mobile BMV Elks Lodge, 120 School Street, West Farmington, ME 04992
8. Fort Keny Mobile BMV Municipal Building, 416 W. Main Street, Fort Kent, ME 04743
9. Houlton Mobile BMV Fire Department, 97 Military Street, Houlton, ME 04730
10. Jackman Mobile BMV Town Office, 369 Main Street, Jackman, ME 04945
11. Kittery Mobile BMV Lions Club, 117 State Road, Route 1 South, Kittery, ME 03904
12. Limerick Mobile BMV Municipal Building, 55 Washington Street, Limerick, ME 04048
13. Lincoln Mobile BMV First Congregational Church, 19 School Street, Lincoln, ME 04457
14. Machias Mobile BMV Telecommunications Center, 1 Stackpole Road, Machias, ME 04654
15. Madawaska Mobile BMV Safety Complex Bldg, 428 E. Main Street, Madawaska, ME 04756
16. Millinocket Mobile BMV American Legion Hall, 970 Outer Central Street, Millinocket, ME 04462
17. Pittsfield Mobile BMV Municipal Building, 8 Park Street, Pittsfield, ME 04967
18. Skowhegan Mobile BMV Skowhegan Community Center, 39 Poulin Drive, Skowhegan, ME 04976
19. South Paris Mobile BMV Trinity Lutheran Church, 34 Buckfield Road, South Paris, ME 04281
20. Stacyville Mobile BMV Town Office, 414 Station Road, Rt. 11, Stacyville, ME 04777
21. Steuben Mobile BMV Town Office, 294 U.S. Route 1, Steuben, ME 04680
22. Waterville Mobile BMV Sterns Building, 93 Main Street, Waterville, ME 04901
23. Wiscasset Mobile BMV Municipal Building, 51 Bath Road, Wiscasset, ME 04578
24. York Mobile BMV American Legion Hall, 9 Hannaford Drive, York, ME 03909

 

Some CDL testing locations require you to set up an appointment. CDL testing hours may vary. Please call the testing location for more information. 

Please Note: Some of the documents linked on this page are in the Adobe Portable Document Format, also known as “PDF.” Adobe Acrobat Reader is required to view, fill out and print forms. If you have problems with Adobe Acrobat Reader, see the Adobe Troubleshooting page for possible solutions.

Copyright © 2017 Truck Driving Schools Info. All Rights Reserved | Home | Contact | About | Terms | Privacy

Maine CDL Requirements
5 (100%) 1 vote