Wyoming CDL Requirements

Wyoming CDL Classes

      You must be at least 18 years old to operate a commercial motor vehicle within the state of Wyoming (intrastate) and at least 21 years of age to operate a commercial motor vehicle outside the state of Wyoming (interstate). You must also be at least 21 years old to transport materials that are deemed hazardous and to transport passengers using a commercial motor vehicle. You need a Wyoming CDL in order to operate either commercial or non-commercial motor vehicles that fall into the following categories:

Class A
      Any combination of vehicles with a Gross Vehicle Weight Rating of 26,001 pounds or more, provided that the gross vehicle weight rating of the towed vehicle is in excess of 10,000 pounds.

Class B
      Any single vehicle with a Gross Vehicle Weight Rating of 26,001 or more pounds, as well as any vehicle towing another vehicle that does not exceed a weight of 10,000 pounds.

Class C
      Any vehicle or combination of vehicles that does not meet the criteria of either Class A or Class B, but is designed to transport 16 or more passengers (including the driver), or is used in transporting materials classified as hazardous in the Hazardous Materials Transportation Act. Each applicant must also have a passenger or hazardous materials endorsement in order to obtain a Class C commercial driver’s license.

Applying for a Wyoming Commercial Learner’s Permit

      You must already possess a Wyoming commercial learner’s permit (CLP) before you can take the CDL Skills Test. Before applying for a Wyoming commercial learner’s permit, you must already possess a valid Wyoming Class D driver’s license. You will be issued a Wyoming commercial driver’s license (CDL) when you pass both the written general knowledge test and the CDL Skills Test.

      In order to obtain a commercial learner’s permit in the state of Wyoming, you must:

  •       Be at least 18 years old for intrastate driving (within the state of Wyoming only).
  •       Be at least 21 years of age for interstate driving (outside the state of Wyoming).
  •       Be at least 21 years of age to transport materials deemed hazardous.
  •       Be at least 21 years of age to transport passengers in a CMV.
  •       Possess a valid Wyoming Class D driver’s license.
  •       Not be disqualified from operating a commercial motor vehicle (please see page 1.3 of the Wyoming CDL Manual for details).
  •       Provide your current out-of-state driver’s license or I.D. card (if you are not currently licensed in the state of Wyoming).
  •       Provide one form of proof of your identity and date of birth (i.e., a certified birth certificate, valid U.S. passport, valid I.D. card, etc.).
  •       Provide one form of proof of your Social Security number (i.e., your Social Security card, W-2 form, pay stub with your name and SSN on it).
  •       Provide one form of proof of U.S. legal presence (i.e., a certified birth certificate, valid U.S. passport, valid I.D. card, etc.).
  •       Provide two forms of proof of your Wyoming residency that shows your name and address (i.e., a utility bill, vehicle registration, rental agreement, etc.).
  •       Provide your current Medical Examiner’s Certificate and completed Medical Examination Report (and any applicable medical waivers).
  •       Certify that your privilege to drive any motor vehicle is not currently suspended, revoked, canceled, or disqualified anywhere.
  •       Certify that you currently hold no more than one driver’s license.
  •       Self-certify that you intend to drive a CMV in either intrastate commerce or interstate commerce.
  •       Pass the physical exam (must be administered by a FMCSA certified physician).
  •       Pass the vision exam (you must have at least 20/40 vision in each eye with or without glasses).
  •       Pass the color blindness test (you must be able to recognize green, red, and amber colors).
  •       Complete, sign, and submit the Wyoming Commercial Driver License Application.
  •       Pass the CDL written general knowledge test.
  •       Pass any other written tests required for the class and type of vehicle you are applying for.
  •       Pass any written tests required for any CDL endorsements you are applying for.
  •       Pay the $20 commercial learner’s permit fee.

      If you have any questions about which identity documents you need to obtain your CLP or CDL, you can speak to a customer service representative at the Wyoming Department of Transportation Call Center by calling (307) 777-4800. The Call Center is open Monday through Friday, from 8:00 am to 5:00 pm, MST. The Wyoming Department of Transportation is closed during all state holidays.

The CDL Knowledge Tests

      The CDL knowledge tests are administered at the Wyoming Driver Exam Stations.  All commercial driver’s license applicants must pass the general knowledge test in order to be eligible to receive a CDL. Applicants must also take the knowledge tests whenever they add a class of vehicle to their CDL, add special endorsements to their CDL, or to remove an air brakes restriction that has been placed on their CDL. The CDL general knowledge test consists of 50 questions in multiple choice form. In order to receive a passing score, each applicant is required to answer at least 80% of the questions correctly in the time allotted for that test. All knowledge tests require a score of at least 80% to pass. Any applicant that exceeds the time limit or incorrectly answers too many questions on the general knowledge test will fail the test. Any applicant that uses any kind of test aid during the test will automatically fail the test. Anyone caught talking to another person during the test will automatically fail the test. Use of cell phones and camera devices is prohibited in the testing area. All applicants should arrive at the Driver Exam Station at least one hour prior to closing when taking the knowledge tests. Most Driver Exam Stations are busier during the afternoon hours so, applicants should keep this in mind when planning their test time.

      Once you successfully pass the required knowledge tests, the Wyoming Department of Transportation will issue you a commercial learner’s permit so that you can practice operating a commercial motor vehicle. The commercial learner’s permit will be valid for up to one year from the date of issuance. You may only renew the commercial learner’s permit once within a two year period. You may only operate a CMV under the supervision of a front seat passenger who is at least 18 years old and carries a valid Wyoming CDL of the same class as the vehicle you are operating. You may not operate any vehicle that is transporting materials deemed hazardous.

      Over 60% of first time CDL applicants fail the written test! Be sure to download and study the Wyoming Driver License Manual for Commercial and Heavy Vehicles, as it contains the information you need to pass the CDL knowledge tests, including some sample test questions. 

      Our Free CDL Practice Tests will help prepare you for the actual CDL knowledge tests administered by the DMV.

      Click here to see the map and clickable list of Wyoming Driver Exam Stations that administer the CDL knowledge tests.

Let Truck Driving Schools Info Connect You With a Reputable CDL Training School In Your Area!

Are you ready to take the next step and begin your career as a well-paid professional truck driver? Our large network of nationally recognized truck driving schools will make it easy for you to find the right school and get started training immediately. The schools in our network hold one or more of the following quality standards:

  • State Licensure
  • PTDI Certification
  • Nationally Recognized Accreditation

Simply fill out the 1-minute application below.

 

Applying for a Wyoming Commercial Driver’s License

      In order to obtain a commercial driver’s license in the state of Wyoming, you must:

  •       Possess a valid Wyoming commercial learner’s permit.
  •       Possess a valid Wyoming Class D driver’s license.
  •       Possess a current D.O.T. card (cannot be more than 2 years old).
  •       Provide proof of vehicle liability insurance.
  •       Self-certify that you intend to drive a CMV in either intrastate commerce or interstate commerce.
  •       Certify that your privilege to drive any motor vehicle is not currently suspended, revoked, canceled, or disqualified anywhere.
  •       Provide a test vehicle of the same class as the CDL you are testing for that is safe to drive.
  •       Provide a passenger that is 18 years of age or older with a valid Wyoming CDL to ride with you in your test vehicle to the test location.
  •       Schedule an appointment for the CDL Skills Test.
  •       Pass the CDL Skills Test.
  •       Pay the $40 CDL Skills Test fee (must be scheduled and paid for in advance).
  •       Pay the $25 commercial driver’s license fee.
  •       Have your photo taken for the commercial driver’s license.
The CDL Skills Test

      Once you obtain your commercial learner’s permit, you will be allowed to take the CDL Skills Test for a fee of $40. The Skills Test is given by appointment only and is offered at designated Wyoming Driver Exam Stations. Walk-ins are not permitted. To schedule a test appointment, contact your nearest Driver Exam Station. You must provide your own test vehicle. The Wyoming Driver Exam Station will not provide a vehicle for you to test in.

      The CDL Skills Test is a three part test that consists of a Pre-trip Inspection, a Basic Controls Test, and an On-Road Driving Test. You will be required to take the test in the same class and type of motor vehicle that you plan to drive once you obtain your CDL.  If you take the CDL Skills Test in a commercial motor vehicle that is not equipped with air brakes, then you will have an air brakes restriction attached to your commercial driver’s license.  If you fail any one part of the CDL Skills Test, you will be required to retake the entire test again. Only one CDL Skills Test can be taken per day. If your test vehicle is not legally equipped and safe to drive, you will not be able to proceed with the Skills Test.

  •       Pre-trip Inspection: Before you can take the CDL driving tests, you will first be tested on your knowledge of the class of vehicle you plan on driving once you obtain your CDL. The Pre-trip inspection also determines if your commercial vehicle is safe enough to drive on public roads. If you fail the Pre-trip Inspection, you may not be allowed to take the Road Skills Test.
  •       Basic Controls Test: Before you can take the Road Skills Test, you will first need to prove that you have the skills to operate a commercial motor vehicle on public roads. This test consists of various off-road maneuvers such as backing up your vehicle, moving your vehicle forward, and making turns within a defined area.
  •       Road Skills Test: Once you pass the first two tests, you will be required to drive your commercial vehicle on public roads in various traffic situations. You will be required to operate the same class of commercial vehicle you plan to drive once you obtain your CDL.

      The Basic Controls Test will most likely include the following maneuvers:

  •       90 degree alley docking
  •       Straight line backing
  •       Parallel parking (driver side)
  •       Parallel parking (conventional)
  •       Offset back/right
  •       Offset back/left

      The Road Skills Test will be administered on a route predetermined by the examiner. The test route will most likely include the following:

  •       Starting
  •       Stopping
  •       Braking
  •       Turning
  •       Observing traffic signs
  •       Observing traffic signals
  •       Observing other traffic
  •       Using vehicle controls
  •       Maintaining proper lane positions
  •       Downgrades
  •       Downgrade stopping
  •       Upgrades
  •       Upgrade stopping
  •       Railroad crossings
  •       Bridge clearance
  •       Underpass clearance
  •       General observance of traffic laws
  •       General safe driving practices for trucks or buses

      On the day of your CDL Skills Test appointment you must:

  1.       Arrive on time.
  2.       Bring your validated commercial learner’s permit.
  3.       Bring your valid D.O.T. medical card (cannot be more than 2 years old).
  4.       Bring a passenger (age 21 or older) that is qualified to drive a CMV with the same class of CDL or greater than the test vehicle.
  5.       Bring a test vehicle that is the same class of license that you are testing for that is safe to drive.

      Failure to do any of the above may result in an immediate cancellation of your CDL Skills Test appointment! The Wyoming Department of Transportation advises applicants to schedule their Skills Test appointment a few weeks in advance and to arrive early for their test appointment. If you decide to cancel your Skills Test appointment, you must cancel the appointment no later than 24 hours in advance. The Wyoming Department of Transportation has the right to cancel any CDL Skills Test appointment due to bad weather, under sourced staffing, or any other unforseen circumstances. Be sure to call the Driver Exam Station on the day of your Skills Test to see if your appointment has been cancelled.

      Be sure to download and study the Wyoming Driver License Manual for Commercial and Heavy Vehicles, as it contains pertinent information that will help you pass the CDL Skills Test.

      Click here to see the map and clickable list of Wyoming Driver Exam Stations that conduct the CDL Skills Test.

Commercial Driver Self-Certification

      In the state of Wyoming, all commercial driver’s license holders must self-certify as to what type of driving they will be doing (intrastate or interstate), and whether they meet or exceed the medical and physical standards put forth by the Federal Motor Carrier Safety Administration to legally and safely operate a commercial motor vehicle. All CDL applicants must self-certify once they obtain their commercial driver’s license.

      You are required to self-certify whenever you:

  •       Apply for a commercial driver’s license.
  •       Renew a commercial driver’s license.
  •       Apply for a higher class of commercial driver’s license.
  •       Apply for a new CDL endorsement.
  •       Transfer a commercial driver’s license from another state.

      All commercial drivers who intend to operate a commercial motor vehicle for the following purposes only, do not require a commercial driver’s license and are considered “exempt” and therefore are waived from self-certification:

  •       Fire and emergency vehicles used to preserve life and property or to carry out governmental operations.
  •       Vehicles operated by non-civilian operators of military equipment.
  •       Recreational vehicles that are being used for personal recreational use only.
  •       Any farm vehicle used to transport agricultural products, farm machinery, or farm supplies within 150 air-miles of the owner’s farm and not used in the operation of a common or contract motor carrier.

      If you intend to operate a commercial motor vehicle for any other purpose than those listed above, then you are considered “non-exempt” and are required to hold a valid CDL and must self-certify. You may also need to provide a current Medical Examiner’s Certificate.

      If you operate a commercial motor vehicle in either intrastate or interstate commerce solely for the following purposes, then you are under “excepted” status, and therefore do not need to provide a Medical Examiner’s Certificate, but may need to undergo a medical evaluation:

  •       Transporting school children and/or school staff members between home and school.
  •       Operating any vehicle as an employee of either Federal, State, or Local government.
  •       Operating fire and rescue vehicles for emergency purposes and other related events.
  •       Transporting sick, injured, or deceased persons.
  •       Primarily transporting propane heating fuel when responding to an emergency condition requiring an immediate response.
  •       When responding to a pipeline emergency requiring an immediate response such as a pipeline leak or rupture.
  •       When custom harvesting on a farm or to haul farm machinery and supplies to and from a farm or when transporting crops between a farm and a market or storage facility.
  •       When operating a farm vehicle that is not a combo vehicle (power unit and towed unit), and is used to haul agricultural products, farm supplies (cannot be materials deemed hazardous), or farm machinery to and from a farm and within 150 air miles of the farm.
  •       Transporting bees as an apiarist during beekeeping season.
  •       When transporting migrant workers.
  •       As a private motor carrier of passengers for non-business activities.

      If you intend to operate a commercial motor vehicle for any other purpose than those listed above, then you operate in either “non-excepted” interstate commerce, “non-excepted” intrastate commerce, or both. You are considered a “non-excepted” interstate driver if you:

  1.       Cross Wyoming state lines while operating a commercial vehicle.
  2.       Transport any cargo that originated from outside the state of Wyoming or is headed to a destination that is outside the state of Wyoming.

      You are considered a”non-excepted” intrastate driver if you:

  1.       Operating a commercial vehicle within the state of Wyoming only.
  2.       Transport any cargo that originated within the state of Wyoming and is headed to a destination within Wyoming state lines.

      “Non excepted” interstate drivers and “non-excepted” intrastate drivers must provide a current Medical Examiner’s Certificate along with a completed and signed copy of the Wyoming Commercial Driver License Application (if you are applying for or renewing a CDL) or the Commercial Driver License Certification Only Form (if you are updating your certification status). The Medical Examiner’s Certificate cannot expire within 60 days from the date of submission. Any commercial drivers who self-certify as “excepted” interstate or “excepted” intrastatemust complete, sign, and submit either the Wyoming Commercial Driver License Application or the Commercial Driver License Certification Only Form only. “Excepted” drivers do not have to submit any medical documents or waivers but, may have to undergo a medical evaluation. Please check out the What is my CDL Certification Diagram for details. You can submit your documents by mail, fax, or in person no matter what your self-certification status is.

      If you have any questions regarding self-certification, you can speak to a customer service representative at the Wyoming CDL Help Desk by calling (307) 777-4802 Monday through Friday, from 8:00 am to 5:00 pm, MST. Please have your commercial driver’s license number readily available when you callYou can also email the CDL Help Desk at don.edington@wyo.gov. Please address your emails to Don Edington.

      For more information about the Medical Examiner’s Certificate, please continue reading below.

Medical Examination Report for Commercial Driver’s License

      All CDL applicants must have the Medical Examiner’s Certificate and the Medical Examination Report completed by one of the following:

  •       Licensed U.S. doctor of medicine (M.D.)
  •       Doctor of Osteopathy (D.O)
  •       Licensed physician assistant (P.A.)
  •       Advanced practice registered nurse
  •       Chiropractor

      The Medical Examiner’s Certificate must be attached to the Medical Examination Report and dated within the previous two years if you are renewing your commercial driver’s license. If you are a first time CDL applicant submitting your Medical Examiner’s Certificate, then the certificate must not expire within 60 days from the date of submission. The Wyoming Department of Transportation will only accept your medical forms if they have been completed by a qualified physician who has been certified by the Federal Motor Carrier Safety Administration. You can search for a FMCSA certified physician by using the National Registry of Certified Medical Examiners.

      The FMSCA requires you to have at least 20/40 vision in each eye and a field of vision of at least 140 degrees (70 degrees in each eye) in order to be certified to operate a commercial motor vehicle. Under certain conditions, you may be able to be waived from these and other medical requirements.

      Once you have completed and signed the Medical Examiner’s Certificate, the Medical Examination Report, the Wyoming Commercial Driver License Application (if you are applying for or renewing a CDL) or the Commercial Driver License Certification Only Form (if you are updating your certification status), and any applicable medical waivers, you can submit your documents by doing any of the following:

  •       Fax your completed and signed documents to (307) 777-3800.
  •       Mail your completed and signed documents to:

                              Wyoming Department of Transportation
                              Driver Services
                              5300 Bishop Boulevard 
                              Cheyenne, WY 82009-3340

      Please include your name, address, and contact phone number on all mailings and faxes. Make sure your information is legible and be sure to double check and, if needed, correct any errors before submitting your documents. All CDL applicants are advised to keep copies of these documents for their own records. Failure to comply with state and federal self-certification regulations will result in a suspension, downgrade, or cancellation of your commercial driving privileges.

      If you have any questions regarding medical documents submission, you can speak to a customer service representative at the Wyoming CDL Help Desk by calling (307) 777-4802 Monday through Friday, from 8:00 am to 5:00 pm, MST. Please have your commercial driver’s license number readily available when you callYou can also email the CDL Help Desk at don.edington@wyo.gov. Please address your emails to Don Edington.

Hazmat Endorsement

      Any person that is applying for a Hazardous Materials CDL endorsement is required to undergo a federal background check and federal fingerprint check according to guidelines set by the Transportation Security Administration. All applicants must also provide the required documents to verify their identification and legal U.S. status. For more information, check out the Transportation Security Administration’s F.A.Q. page. You can apply for the security threat assessment on the TSA Hazardous Material Endorsement Enrollment Website. You must begin applying at least 30 days before the expiration of your CDL. You can start the application process on the HTAP Online Application Website. To apply by phone call (855) 347-8371. Use the TSA Enrollment Center Locator to find the nearest TSA approved fingerprint office.

Military Drivers

      In the state of Wyoming, if you are currently serving in the military or have been honorably discharged within the last 90 days, and you have driven military vehicles that would require a CDL to operate as a civilian with a 2 year safe driving record, then you may qualify for the waiver of the CDL Skills Test and may be exempt from taking the commercial driver skills test. You will still be required to take the written tests. Certain restrictions apply. Download, print, and complete the Application for Military Skills Test Waiver to start the process.

If you have any questions about the Application for Military Skills Test Waiver, you can speak to a customer service representative at the Wyoming Department of Transportation Call Center by calling (307) 777-4800. The Call Center is open Monday through Friday, from 8:00 am to 5:00 pm, MST. The Wyoming Department of Transportation is closed during all state holidays.

Wyoming CDL Endorsements

      H      Placarded Hazmat      Required to transport hazardous materials under DOT regulations.

      N      Tank Vehicles      Required to transport liquids in bulk containers of 1,000 gallons or more.

      X      Tanker/Hazardous Materials Combination   Required to transport hazardous materials in tank vehicles

      T      Double/Triple Trailers      Indicates CDL holder is certified to operate multiple trailer haulers.

      P     Passengers      Indicates the CDL holder is certified to operate passenger vehicles.

      S     School Bus      Indicates the CDL holder is authorized to operate a school bus.

Wyoming CDL Restrictions

      B      Corrective Lenses

      E      Automatic Transmission CMV Only

      K      Intrastate Driving Only

      L      No Air Brakes CMV

      M     Class B Bus Only

      N      Class C Bus Only

      O      Except Tractor/Trailer

      Y      Annual Vision Statement Required

      Z      No Full Air Brake CMVs

Methods of Payment

      The Wyoming Exam Stations accept the following methods of payment:

  •       Cash
  •       Checks
  •       Money Orders
  •       Credit Cards (not accepted at all exam stations)
  •       Debit Cards (not accepted at all exam stations)

      All fees are non-refundable and are subject to change without notice. Credit and debit card payments will incur an additional service fee.

Important Wyoming Commercial Driver’s License Resources

Wyoming Driver License Manual for Commercial and Heavy Vehicles
Wyoming CDL Practice Tests
Wyoming Commercial Driver License Application
Wyoming Application for Military Skills Test Waiver
Application for Military Skills Test Waiver
What is my CDL Certification?
Commercial Driver License Certification Only Form
Medical Examination Report Form 649-F
Medical Examiner’s Certificate
National Registry of Certified Medical Examiners

 

      Check out our list of truck driving schools in Wyoming that will provide you with the necessary skills to obtain your commercial driver’s license and start your career in the exciting field of commercial truck driving! You may also want to check out our nationwide list of truck driving schools.

 

Map of Wyoming Driver Exam Stations

TitleAddress
1. Baggs DES (Carbon County) County Library, 105 2nd Street, Baggs, WY 82321
2. Basin DES (Big Horn County) 215 S. 4th Street, Basin, WY 82410
3. Big Piney DES (Sublette County) 231 N. Front Street, Suite D, Big Piney, WY 83113
4. Buffalo DES (Johnson County) Roundhouse Square Mall, 350 E. Hart Street, Suite 3, Buffalo, WY 82834
5. Casper DES (Natrona County)** 800 Bryan Stock Trail, Casper, WY 82601
6. Cheyenne DES (Laramie County)** 5300 Bishop Blvd, Cheyenne, WY 82009
7. Cody DES (Park County)** 1501 Stampede Avenue, Suite 3000, Cody, WY 82414
8. Douglas DES (Converse County) 50 Orin Way, Douglas, WY 82633
9. Dubois (Fremont Coounty)** Town Hall, 712 Meckem Street, Dubois, WY 82513
10. Evanston DES (Uinta County) 350 City View Drive, Suite 204, Evanston, WY 82930
11. Gillette DES (Campbell County) 3540 E. Warlow Drive, Gillette, WY 82716
12. Jackson DES (Teton County) WYDOT Complex, 1040 Evans Road, Jackson, WY 83001
13. Kemmerer DES (Lincoln County)** 922 Cedar Avenue, Kemmerer, WY 83101
14. Lander DES (Fremont County)** Collins Bldg, 125 Sunflower Street, Lander, WY 82520
15. Laramie DES (Albany County)** 3411 S. 3rd Street, Suite 8, Laramie, WY 82070
16. Lovell DES (Big Horn County)** 203 E. 2nd Street, Lovell, WY 82431
17. Lusk DES (Niobrara County)** 905 S. Main Street, Lusk, WY 82225
18. Newcastle DES (Weston County) 723 Washington Blvd, Suite A, Newcastle, WY 82701
19. Pinedale DES (Sublette County)** 1551 W. Pine Street, Pinedale, WY 82941
20. Rawlins DES (Carbon County)** 301 Airport Road, Rawlins, WY 82301
21. Riverton DES (Fremont County)** 877 N. 8th Street West, Riverton, WY 82501
22. Rock Springs DES (Sweetwater County) 3200 Elk Street, Rock Springs, WY 82902
23. Sheridan DES (Sheridan County) 1949 Sugarland Drive, Suite 168, Sheridan, WY 82801
24. Sundance DES (Crook County) 2215 1/2 E. Cleveland Street, Sundance, WY 82729
25. Thayne DES (Lincoln County) 250 VanNoy Pkwy, Suite B130, Thayne, WY 83127
26. Thermopolis DES (Hot Springs County) 173 U.S. Hwy 20 South, Thermopolis, WY 82443
27. Torrington DES (Goshen County) ** 2948 West C Street, Suite A, Torrington, WY 82240
28. Wheatland DES (Platte County) 68 16th Street, Wheatland, WY 82201
29. Worland DES (Washakie County) 606 S. 12th Street, Worland, WY 82401

 

**The CDL Skills Test is conducted at this location.

Some CDL testing locations require you to set up an appointment. CDL testing hours may vary. Please call the testing location for more information.

 

Please Note: Some of the documents linked on this page are in the Adobe Portable Document Format, also known as “PDF.” Adobe Acrobat Reader is required to view, fill out and print forms. If you have problems with Adobe Acrobat Reader, see the Adobe Troubleshooting page for possible solutions.

Wyoming CDL Requirements
5 (100%) 1 vote