West Virginia CDL Requirements

West Virginia CDL Classes

      You must be at least 18 years old to operate a commercial motor vehicle within the state of West Virginia (intrastate) and at least 21 years of age to operate a commercial motor vehicle outside the state of West Virginia (interstate). You must also be at least 21 years old to transport materials that are deemed hazardous and to transport passengers using a commercial motor vehicle. You need a West Virginia CDL in order to operate either commercial or non-commercial motor vehicles that fall into the following categories:

Class A
      Any combination of vehicles with a Gross Vehicle Weight Rating of 26,001 pounds or more, provided that the gross vehicle weight rating of the towed vehicle is in excess of 10,000 pounds.  

Class B
      Any single vehicle with a Gross Vehicle Weight Rating of 26,001 or more pounds, as well as any vehicle towing another vehicle that does not exceed a weight of 10,000 pounds. 

Class C
      Any vehicle or combination of vehicles that does not meet the criteria of either Class A or Class B, but is designed to transport 16 or more passengers (including the driver), or is used in transporting materials classified as hazardous in the Hazardous Materials Transportation Act. Each applicant must also have a passenger or hazardous materials endorsement in order to obtain a Class C commercial driver’s license. 

Applying for a West Virginia Commercial Learner’s Permit

      You must already possess a West Virginia commercial learner’s permit (CLP) before you can take the CDL Skills Test. Before applying for a West Virginia commercial learner’s permit, you must already possess a valid West Virginia Class D operator’s license or a junior operator’s license for at least two years. You will be issued a West Virginia commercial driver’s license (CDL) when you pass both the written general knowledge test and the CDL Skills Test. 

      In order to obtain a commercial learner’s permit in the state of West Virginia, you must:

  • Be at least 18 years old for intrastate driving (within the state of West Virginia only).
  • Be at least 21 years of age for interstate driving (outside the state of West Virginia).
  • Be at least 21 years of age to transport materials deemed hazardous.
  • Be at least 21 years of age to transport passengers in a CMV.
  • Possess a valid West Virginia Class D operator’s/junior operator’s license for at least two years.
  • Have at least two years of driving experience.
  • Not be disqualified from operating a commercial motor vehicle (please see the West Virginia Commercial Driver’s License Manual for details).
  • Provide your current out-of-state driver’s license or I.D. card (if you are not currently licensed in the state of West Virginia).
  • Provide original documented proof of your identification and date of birth (i.e., a certified birth certificate, valid U.S. passport, valid I.D. card).
  • Provide original documented proof of your Social Security number (i.e., your Social Security card, W-2 form, pay stub with your name/SSN).
  • Provide original documented proof of U.S. legal presence (i.e., a certified birth certificate, valid U.S. passport, valid I.D. card).
  • Provide proof of your current West Virginia residency that shows your name and address (i.e., a utility bill, current vehicle registration, W-2 form).
  • Provide your current Medical Examiner’s Certificate and completed Medical Examination Report (and any applicable medical waivers).  
  • Certify that your privilege to drive any motor vehicle is not currently suspended, revoked, canceled, or disqualified anywhere.
  • Certify that you currently hold no more than one driver’s license.
  • Self-certify that you intend to drive a CMV in either intrastate commerce or interstate commerce.
  • Pass the physical exam (must be administered by a FMCSA certified physician).
  • Pass the vision exam (you must have at least 20/40 vision in each eye with or without glasses).
  • Pass the color blindness test (you must be able to recognize green, red, and amber colors).
  • Complete, sign, and submit the Application for Commercial Driver’s License and/or Endorsements.
  • Pass the CDL written knowledge test.
  • Pass any other written tests required for the class and type of vehicle you are applying for.
  • Pass any written tests required for any CDL endorsements you are applying for.
  • Pay the $25 fee for each CDL knowledge test (one fee pays for three test attempts).
  • Pay any applicable licensing fees.

      If you have any questions about which documents to bring to your nearest DMV Regional Office when you apply for your commercial learner’s permit, you can speak to a customer service representative at the West Virginia Division of Motor Vehicles Call Center by calling toll-free 1-800-642-9066 or (304) 558-3900. The Call Center is open Monday through Friday, from 8:30 am to 5:00 pm, EST. The West Virginia Division of Motor Vehicles is closed during all state holidays.

      Once the West Virginia division of Motor Vehicles receives your completed and signed Application for Commercial Driver’s License and/or Endorsements along with payment for the required fees, the DMV will mail you a test card that indicates DMV Regional Office locations and residency requirements. You must then visit any DMV Regional Office or Exam Center and take the required CDL knowledge tests.

The CDL Knowledge Tests

       The CDL knowledge tests are administered at the DMV Regional Offices and Exam Centers in both written and oral form, except for the Hazardous Materials knowledge test, which is only given in written form.  All commercial driver’s license applicants must pass the general knowledge test in order to be eligible to receive a CDL. Applicants must also take the knowledge tests whenever they add a class of vehicle to their CDL, add special endorsements to their CDL, or to remove an air brakes restriction that has been placed on their CDL.

      The CDL general knowledge test consists of 50 questions in multiple choice form. In order to receive a passing score, each applicant is required to answer at least 80% of the questions correctly in the time allotted for that test. All knowledge tests require a score of at least 80% to pass. Any applicant that exceeds the time limit or incorrectly answers too many questions on the general knowledge test will fail the test.

      Any applicant that uses any kind of test aid during the test will automatically fail the test. Anyone caught talking to another person during the test will automatically fail the test. Use of cell phones and camera devices is prohibited in the testing area. If you fail any part of the knowledge test, you will be required to wait at least seven days before you can take the test again.

      All applicants should arrive at the DMV Regional Office or Exam Center at least one hour prior to closing when taking the knowledge tests. Most DMV Regional Offices and Exam Centers are busier during the afternoon hours so, applicants should keep this in mind when planning their test time.

      Once you successfully pass the required knowledge tests, the West Virginia Division of Motor Vehicles will issue you a commercial learner’s permit so that you can practice operating a commercial motor vehicle. The commercial learner’s permit will be valid for 180 consecutive days (6 months) from the date of issuance. You may only renew the commercial learner’s permit once within a two year period.

      You may only operate a CMV under the supervision of a front seat passenger who is at least 21 years old and carries a valid West Virginia CDL of the same class as the class of vehicle you are operating. You may not operate any vehicle that is transporting materials deemed hazardous. 

      Over 60% of first time CDL applicants fail the written test! Be sure to download and study the West Virginia Commercial Driver’s License Manual, as it contains the information you need to pass the CDL knowledge tests, including some sample test questions.  

      Our Free CDL Practice Tests will help prepare you for the actual CDL knowledge tests administered by the DMV.

      Click here to see the map and clickable list of West Virginia DMV Regional Offices and Exam Centers where you can take the CDL knowledge tests.
West Virginia CDL

Get Your CDL in 4 Weeks and Make $40,000 or More Your First Year!

Are you ready to take the next step and begin your career as a well-paid professional truck driver? We’ve partnered with some of the best truck driving schools in the nation and have helped thousands of people just like you find a high quality truck driving school. We’ll make it easy for you to find the right school and get started training immediately.

WV CDL

The schools in our network hold one or more of the following quality standards:

  • State Licensure
  • PTDI Certification
  • Company Sponsored CDL Training
  • Nationally Recognized Accreditation
  • Job Placement Assistance for Those Who Qualify

Classes are filling up fast, so get started today by filling out the quick 1-minute form below! 

Applying for a West Virginia Commercial Driver’s License

      In order to obtain a commercial driver’s license in the state of West Virginia, you must:

  • Possess a valid West Virginia commercial learner’s permit.
  • Possess a valid West Virginia Class D operator’s/junior operator’s license for at least two years.
  • Have at least two years of driving experience.
  • Possess a current D.O.T. card (cannot be more than 2 years old).
  • Provide proof of vehicle insurance and vehicle registration (must be verified before you can take the test).
  • Self-certify that you intend to drive a CMV in either intrastate commerce or interstate commerce.
  • Certify that your privilege to drive any motor vehicle is not currently suspended, revoked, canceled, or disqualified anywhere.
  • Provide a test vehicle of the same class as the CDL you are testing for that has passed inspection.
  • Provide a passenger that is 21 years of age or older with a valid West Virginia CDL to ride with you in your test vehicle to the test location.
  • Schedule an appointment for the CDL Skills Test.
  • Pass the CDL Skills Test.
  • Pay the $90 CDL Skills Test fee (must be paid to the CDL Third Party Tester).
  • Pay the commercial driver’s license fee (please refer to the CDL Fee Chart on page XV of the West Virginia Commercial Driver’s License Manual).
  • Pay the $10 fee for each CDL endorsement (plus a $5 fee for the duplicate CDL).
  • Submit the passed form to any DMV Regional Office or Exam Center for processing.
  • Have your photo taken for the commercial driver’s license.

      Please note, any commercial driver who moves to West Virginia holding an out-of-state CDL, must apply to transfer their commercial driver’s license within 30 days of establishing West Virginia residency.

The CDL Skills Test

      Once you obtain your commercial learner’s permit, you will be allowed to take the CDL Skills Test for a fee of $90. The Skills Test is given by appointment only and is administered by state certified CDL Third Party Testers. Walk-ins are not permitted. To schedule a test appointment, contact any CDL Third Party Tester. You must provide your own test vehicle. The Third Party Testers will not provide a vehicle for you to test in.

      The CDL Skills Test is a three part test that consists of a Pre-trip Inspection, a Basic Vehicle Controls Test, and an On-Road Driving Test. You will be required to take the test in the same class and type of motor vehicle that you plan to drive once you obtain your CDL. If you take the CDL Skills Test in a commercial motor vehicle that is not equipped with air brakes, then you will have an air brakes restriction attached to your commercial driver’s license.

      If you fail any one part of the CDL Skills Test, you will be required to retake the entire test again. Only one CDL Skills Test can be taken per day. If your test vehicle is not legally equipped and safe to drive, you will not be able to proceed with the Skills Test.

  • Pre-trip Inspection: Before you can take the CDL driving tests, you will first be tested on your knowledge of the class of vehicle you plan on driving once you obtain your CDL. The Pre-trip inspection also determines if your commercial vehicle is safe enough to drive on public roads. If you fail the Pre-trip Inspection, you may not be allowed to take the Road Skills Test. 
  • Basic Controls Test: Before you can take the Road Skills Test, you will first need to prove that you have the skills to operate a commercial motor vehicle on public roads. This test consists of various off-road maneuvers such as backing up your vehicle, moving your vehicle forward, and making turns within a defined area. 
  • Road Skills Test: Once you pass the first two tests, you will be required to drive your commercial vehicle on public roads in various traffic situations. You will be required to operate the same class of commercial vehicle you plan to drive once you obtain your CDL.

      The Basic Controls Test will most likely include the following maneuvers:

  • 90 degree alley docking
  • Straight line backing
  • Parallel parking (driver side)
  • Parallel parking (conventional)
  • Offset back/right
  • Offset back/left

      The Road Skills Test will be administered on a route predetermined by the examiner. The test route will most likely include the following:

  • Starting
  • Stopping
  • Braking
  • Turning
  • Observing traffic signs
  • Observing traffic signals
  • Observing other traffic
  • Using vehicle controls
  • Maintaining proper lane positions
  • Downgrades
  • Downgrade stopping
  • Upgrades
  • Upgrade stopping
  • Railroad crossings
  • Bridge clearance
  • Underpass clearance
  • General observance of traffic laws
  • General safe driving practices for trucks or buses

     On the day of your CDL Skills Test appointment you must:

  1. Arrive on time.
  2. Bring your validated commercial learner’s permit.
  3. Bring your valid D.O.T. medical card (cannot be more than 2 years old).
  4. Bring a passenger (age 21 or older) that is qualified to drive a CMV with the same class of CDL or greater than the test vehicle.
  5. Bring a test vehicle that is the same class of license that you are testing for and that has passed inspection.

      Failure to do any of the above may result in an immediate cancellation of your CDL Skills Test appointment! The West Virginia Division of Motor Vehicles advises applicants to schedule their Skills Test appointment a few weeks in advance and to arrive early for their test appointment. If you decide to cancel your Skills Test appointment, you must cancel the appointment no later than 24 hours in advance. 

      The West Virginia Division of Motor Vehicles has the right to cancel any CDL Skills Test appointment due to bad weather, under sourced staffing, or any other unforseen circumstances. Be sure to call the CDL Third Party Tester on the day of your Skills Test to see if your appointment has been cancelled. 

      Be sure to download and study the West Virginia Commercial Driver’s License Manual, as it contains pertinent information that will help you pass the CDL Skills Test. 

      Click here to see the list of state certified CDL Third Party Testers that conduct the CDL Skills Test.

Commercial Driver Self-Certification

      In the state of West Virginia, all commercial driver’s license holders must self-certify as to what type of driving they will be doing (intrastate or interstate), and whether they meet or exceed the medical and physical standards put forth by the Federal Motor Carrier Safety Administration to legally and safely operate a commercial motor vehicle. All CDL applicants must self-certify once they obtain their commercial driver’s license.   

      You are required to self-certify whenever you:

  • Apply for a commercial driver’s license.
  • Renew a commercial driver’s license.
  • Apply for a higher class of commercial driver’s license.
  • Apply for a new CDL endorsement.
  • Transfer a commercial driver’s license from another state.

       All commercial drivers who intend to operate a commercial motor vehicle for the following purposes only, do not require a commercial driver’s license and are considered “exempt” and therefore are waived from self-certification:

  • Persons operating Special Purpose Commercial vehicle with a GVWR of 26,000 lbs. or less. 
  • Fire and emergency vehicles used to preserve life and property or to carry out governmental operations.
  • Vehicles operated by non-civilian operators of military equipment.
  • Recreational vehicles that are being used for personal recreational use only.
  • Any farm vehicle used to transport agricultural products, farm machinery, or farm supplies within 150 air-miles of the owner’s farm and not used in the operation of a common or contract motor carrier.

      Any driver who will be operating  a commercial motor vehicle for agricultural business purposes may want to complete, sign, and submit the Application for Farm Vehicle Driver Exemption.

      If you intend to operate a commercial motor vehicle for any other purpose than those listed above, then you are considered “non-exempt” and are required to hold a valid CDL and must self-certify. You may also need to provide a current Medical Examiner’s Certificate.

      If you operate a commercial motor vehicle in either intrastate or interstate commerce solely for the following purposes, then you are under “excepted” status, and therefore do not need to provide a Medical Examiner’s Certificate:

  • Transporting school children and/or school staff members between home and school.
  • Operating any vehicle as an employee of either Federal, State, or Local government.
  • Operating fire and rescue vehicles for emergency purposes and other related events.
  • Transporting sick, injured, or deceased persons.
  • Primarily transporting propane heating fuel when responding to an emergency condition requiring an immediate response.
  • When responding to a pipeline emergency requiring an immediate response such as a pipeline leak or rupture.
  • When custom harvesting on a farm or to haul farm machinery and supplies to and from a farm or when transporting crops between a farm and a market or storage facility.
  • When operating a farm vehicle that is not a combo vehicle (power unit and towed unit), and is used to haul agricultural products, farm supplies (cannot be materials deemed hazardous), or farm machinery to and from a farm and within 150 air miles of the farm.
  • Transporting bees as an apiarist during beekeeping season.
  • When transporting migrant workers.
  • As a private motor carrier of passengers for non-business activities.

      If you intend to operate a commercial motor vehicle for any other purpose than those listed above, then you operate in either “non-excepted” interstate commerce, “non-excepted” intrastate commerce, or both. You are considered a “non-excepted” interstate driver if you:

  1. Cross West Virginia state lines while operating a commercial vehicle.
  2. Transport any cargo that originated from outside the state of West Virginia or is headed to a destination that is outside the state of West Virginia.

      You are considered a”non-excepted” intrastate driver if you:

  1. Operating a commercial vehicle within the state of West Virginia only.
  2. Transport any cargo that originated within the state of Utah and is headed to a destination within West Virginia state lines.

       Both “non excepted” interstate drivers and “non-excepted” intrastate drivers must provide a current Medical Examiner’s Certificate along with a completed and signed copy of the WV Commercial Driver Licensee Medical Self-Certification Affidavit. The Medical Examiner’s Certificate cannot expire within 60 days from the date of submission.

      Any commercial drivers who self-certify as “excepted” interstate or “excepted” intrastatemust complete, sign, and submit the WV Commercial Driver Licensee Medical Self-Certification Affidavit only. “Excepted” drivers do not have to submit any medical documents or waivers. You can submit your documents by mail, fax, or in person, no matter what your self-certification status is.

      If you have any questions regarding self-certification, you can speak to a customer service representative at the West Virginia CDL Help Desk by calling (304) 926-3801. Please have your commercial driver’s license number readily available when you callYou can also email the CDL Help Desk at Don.C.Estep@wv.gov. Please address your emails to the supervisor, Don Estep.

      For more information about the Medical Examiner’s Certificate, please continue reading below.

Medical Examination Report for Commercial Driver’s License

      All CDL applicants must have the Medical Examiner’s Certificate and the Medical Examination Report completed by one of the following:

  • Licensed U.S. doctor of medicine (M.D.)
  • Doctor of Osteopathy (D.O)
  • Licensed physician assistant (P.A.)
  • Advanced practice registered nurse
  • Chiropractor

      The Medical Examiner’s Certificate must be attached to the Medical Examination Report and dated within the previous two years if you are renewing your commercial driver’s license. If you are a first time CDL applicant submitting your Medical Examiner’s Certificate, then the certificate must not expire within 60 days from the date of submission.

      The West Virginia Division of Motor Vehicles will only accept your medical forms if they have been completed by a qualified physician who has been certified by the Federal Motor Carrier Safety Administration. You can search for a FMCSA certified physician by using the National Registry of Certified Medical Examiners.

      The FMSCA requires you to have at least 20/40 vision in each eye and a field of vision of at least 140 degrees (70 degrees in each eye) in order to be certified to operate a commercial motor vehicle. Under certain conditions, you may be able to be waived from these and other medical requirements.     

      Any CDL applicant that does not meet the FMCSA medical and fitness requirements for intrastate (within WV only) commercial driving may qualify for a medical waiver. Please call (304) 926-3801 for more information.

      Any CDL applicant that does not meet the FMCSA medical and fitness requirements for interstate (all 50 states) commercial driving may qualify for a medical waiver granted by the Federal Highway Administration. Please call (304) 347-5935 for details.

      Once you have completed and signed the Medical Examiner’s Certificate, the Medical Examination Report, the WV Commercial Driver Licensee Medical Self-Certification Affidavit, and any applicable medical waivers, you can submit your documents by doing any of the following:

  • Fax your completed and signed documents to (304) 926-3890.
  • Bring your completed and signed documents in person to the Driver Services Window at:

                              Kanawha City Regional Office
                              5707 MacCorkle Avenue SE 
                              Suite 400
                              Charleston, WV 25317

  • Mail your completed and signed documents to:

                              Driver Licensing 
                              P. O. Box 17010 5707 
                              MacCorkle Avenue SE 
                              Charleston, WV 25317

      Please include your name, address, and contact number on all mailings and faxes. Make sure your information is legible and be sure to double check and, if needed, correct any errors before submitting your documents. All CDL applicants are advised to keep copies of these documents for their own records. Failure to comply with state and federal self-certification regulations will result in a suspension, downgrade, or cancellation of your commercial driving privileges.

         If you have any questions regarding self-certification, you can speak to a customer service representative at the West Virginia CDL Help Desk by calling (304) 926-3801. Please have your commercial driver’s license number readily available when you callYou can also email the CDL Help Desk at Don.C.Estep@wv.gov. Please address your emails to the supervisor, Don Estep.

Hazmat Endorsement

      Any person that is applying for a Hazardous Materials CDL endorsement is required to undergo a federal background check and federal fingerprint check according to guidelines set by the Transportation Security Administration. All applicants must also provide the required documents to verify their identification and legal U.S. status. For more information, check out the Transportation Security Administration’s F.A.Q. page.

      You can apply for the security threat assessment on the TSA Hazardous Material Endorsement Enrollment Website. You must begin applying at least 30 days before the expiration of your CDL. You can start the application process on the HTAP Online Application Website. To apply by phone call (855) 347-8371. Use the TSA Enrollment Center Locator to find the nearest TSA approved fingerprint office.

Military Drivers

      In the state of West Virginia, if you are currently serving in the military or have been honorably discharged within the last 90 days, and you have driven military vehicles that would require a CDL to operate as a civilian with a 2 year safe driving record, then you may qualify for the waiver of the CDL Skills Test and may be exempt from taking the commercial driver skills test. You will still be required to take the written tests. Certain restrictions apply. Download, print, and complete the Application for Military Skills Test Waiver to start the process. 

      If you have any questions about the Application for Military Skills Test Waiver, you can speak to a customer service representative at the West Virginia Division of Motor Vehicles Call Center by calling toll-free 1-800-642-9066 or (304) 558-3900. The Call Center is open Monday through Friday, from 8:30 am to 5:00 pm, EST. The West Virginia Division of Motor Vehicles is closed during all state holidays.

West Virginia CDL Endorsements

      H      Placarded Hazmat      Required to transport hazardous materials under DOT regulations. 

      N      Tank Vehicles      Required to transport liquids in bulk containers of 1,000 gallons or more.

      X      Tanker/Hazardous Materials Combination   Required to transport hazardous materials in tank vehicles   

      T      Double/Triple Trailers      Indicates CDL holder is certified to operate multiple trailer haulers. 

      P     Passengers      Indicates the CDL holder is certified to operate passenger vehicles.

      S     School Bus      Indicates the CDL holder is authorized to operate a school bus.  

West Virginia CDL Restrictions

      E      Automatic Transmission CMV Only

      K      Intrastate Driving Only

      L      No Air Brakes CMV

      M      Except Class A Bus

      N      Except Class A and Class B Bus

      O      No Tractor Trailer CMVs

      P      No Passengers on a Passenger Bus

      V      Medical Variance

      X      No Cargo on Tank Endorsement

      Z      No Full Air Brake CMVs

Methods of Payment

      The West Virginia DMV Regional Offices and Exam Centers accept the following methods of payment:

  • Cash
  • Checks
  • Money Orders
  • Credit Cards 
  • Debit Cards 

      All commercial licensing fees are non-refundable and are subject to change without notice. 

Important West Virginia Commercial Driver’s License Resources

West Virginia Commercial Driver’s License Manual
West Virginia CDL Practice Tests
Application for Commercial Driver’s License and/or Endorsements
Application for Farm Vehicle Driver Exemption
West Virginia Application for Military Skills Test Waiver
Application for Military Skills Test Waiver
WV Commercial Driver Licensee Medical Self-Certification Affidavit
West Virginia DMV Medical Report Form
Medical Examination Report Form 649-F
West Virginia DOT Medical Certificate
Medical Examiner’s Certificate
National Registry of Certified Medical Examiners

 

      Check out our list of truck driving schools in West Virginia that will provide you with the necessary skills to obtain your commercial driver’s license and start your career in the exciting field of commercial truck driving! You may also want to check out our nationwide list of truck driving schools.  

If you found this article helpful, feel free to share it on Google Plus and Facebook using the buttons below.

 

Map of West Virginia DMV Regional Offices and Exam Centers

TitleAddress
1. Beckley Regional Office 107 Pinecrest Drive, Beckley, WV 25801
2. Bridgeport Regional Office 105 Platinum Drive, Suite D, Bridgeport, WV 26330
3. Charles Town Regional Office 24 Ruland Road, Kearneysville, WV 25430
4. Elkins Regional Office 1029 N. Randolph Avenue, Elkins, WV 26241
5. Fairmont Examination Center 9395 Middletown Mall, Fairmont, WV 26554
6. Flatwoods Regional Office 295 Skidmore Lane, Sutton, WV 26601
7. Franklin Regional Office 100 Thorn Creek Road, Suite 300, Franklin, WV 26807
8. Huntington Regional Office 801 Madison Avenue, P.O. Box 880, Huntington, WV 25701
9. Kanawha City Regional Office 5707 MacCorkle Avenue SE, Suite 400, Charleston, WV 25317
10. Lewisburg Regional Office 148 Maplewood Avenue, Lewisburg, WV 24901
11. Logan Regional Office 428 Main Street, Logan, WV 25601
12. Martinsburg Regional Office 38 Severna Pkwy, Martinsburg, WV 25403
13. Moorefield Regional Office 410 S. Main Street, Moorefield, WV 26836
14. Morgantown Regional Office 1525 Deckers Creek Blvd, Morgantown WV 26505
15. Moundsville Regional Office 400 Teletech Drive, Suite 100, Moundsville, WV 26041
16. Parksburg Regional Office 601 Lubeck Avenue, Parkersburg, WV 26101
17. Point Pleasant Regional Office 1408 Kanawha Street, Point Pleasant, WV 25550
18. Princeton Regional Office 198 Davis Street, Princeton, WV 24740
19. Romney Regional Office 22278 Northwestern Pike, Romney, WV 26757
20. Spencer Regional Office 115 Church Street, Spencer, WV 25276
21. Summersville Regional Office 2 Armory Way, Summersville, WV 26651
22. Weirton Regional Office Municipal Plaza, Route 2 & Cove Road, Suite 100, Weirton, WV 26062
23. Welch Regional Office 92 McDowell Street, Welch, WV 24801
24. Williamson Regional Office 225 E. 3rd Avenue, Williamson, WV 25661
25. Winfield Regional Office 116 Liberty Square, Hurricane, WV 25526

 

Some CDL testing locations require you to set up an appointment. CDL testing hours may vary. Please call the testing location for more information.

 

List of West Virginia Approved CDL Third Party Testers

Region I

1. Mcdowell Co.
Contact: Thomas Bell
Phone: (304) 436-6976
Cell Phone: (304) 888-1546

2. Mercer Co.
Contact: Jason Blevins
Phone: (304) 960-1655
Cell Phone: (304) 673-7556

3. Harrison Co.
Contact: Anthony J. Colombo, Jr.
Phone: (304) 473-5381
Cell Phone: (304) 677-8887

4. Marshall Co. & Ohio Co.
Contact: Arthur E. Lightner
Phone: (304) 639-1866
Work Phone: (304) 671-8136

5. Harrison Co.
Contact: Edward G. Rollins, Jr. 
Phone: (304) 842-8984
Cell Phone: (304) 669-2081

6. Wood Co.
Contact: Daniel E. Taylor
Phone: (304) 863-8806
Work Phone: (304) 420-4659
Cell Phone: (304) 494-2222

7. Harrison Co.
Contact: Robert Twigg 
Phone: (304) 842-2777
Cell Phone: (304) 641-6051

Region II

8. Cabell Co.
Contact: George Colegrove
Phone: (304) 743-6691
Work Phone: (304) 528-5607
Cell Phone: (304) 544-1550

9. Harrison Co.
Contact: Charles Crouse, Jr.
Phone: (304) 457-4964
Cell Phone: (304) 641-0961

10. Brooke Co. & Hancock Co.
Contact: Roseanna Finney
Cell Phone: (304) 650-0766

11. Cabell Co.
Contact: Gary L. Lusher
Cell Phone: (304) 654-5319

12. Kanawha Co.
Contact: Dennis Moles, Jr.
Phone: (304) 205-4639
Cell Phone: (304) 553-6114

13. Kanawha Co.
Contact: Harold Moles
Phone: (304) 982-5421
Cell Phone: (304) 421-3447

14. Mason Co.
Contact: Billy Nance
Phone: (304) 576-2004
Cell Phone: (304) 638-2509

15. Putnam Co.
Contact: Ryan Powers
Phone: (304) 561-6378
Cell Phone: (304) 205-3944

16. Kanawha Co.
Contact: Bob Richard
Phone: (304) 373-7220
Cell Phone: (304) 372-5432

17. Kanawha Co.
Contact: Gerald C. Smith
Phone: (304) 345-2595
Cell Phone: (304) 550-6346

Region III

18. Randolph Co.
Contact: Tim Myers
Phone: (304) 478-4420
Cell Phone: (304) 642-4424

19. Berkeley Co.
Contact: Janet Nesselerodt
Cell Phone: (304) 279-5578

20. Grant Co.
Contact: Robert Pritts
Phone: (304) 788-0037
Work Phone: (304) 289-2256
Cell Phone: (304) 790-3417

21. Berkeley Co.
Contact: Bill Shoop
Phone: (304) 813-8887

22. Lewis Co.
Contact: Robert Smith
Phone: (304) 269-4452

Region IV

23. Raleigh Co.
Contact: Joe Bowman
Phone: (304) 763-7776 
Cell Phone: (304) 237-8270

24. Raleigh Co. 
Contact: Fred William Hart
Phone: (304) 640-1230

25. Greenbrier Co.
Contact: Steven V. McCoy
Phone: (304) 653-4503
Work Phone: (304) 647-7550
Cell Phone: (304) 646-1623

26. Greenbier Co.
Contact: Randall L. Thomas
Phone: (304) 497-3741
Work Phone: (304) 536-7827
Cell Phone: (304) 667-4704

27. Mercer Co.
Contact: Gary Tincher
Phone: (304) 384-3536

Some CDL testing locations require you to set up an appointment. CDL testing hours may vary. Please call the testing location for more information.

Please Note: Some of the documents linked on this page are in the Adobe Portable Document Format, also known as “PDF.” Adobe Acrobat Reader is required to view, fill out and print forms. If you have problems with Adobe Acrobat Reader, see the Adobe Troubleshooting page for possible solutions.

Copyright © 2017 Truck Driving Schools Info. All Rights Reserved | Home | Contact | About | Terms | Privacy

West Virginia CDL Requirements
5 (100%) 1 vote