Vermont CDL Requirements

Vermont CDL Classes

      You must be at least 18 years old to operate a commercial motor vehicle within the state of Vermont (intrastate) and at least 21 years of age to operate a commercial motor vehicle outside the state of Vermont (interstate). You must also be at least 21 years old to transport materials that are deemed hazardous and to transport passengers using a commercial motor vehicle. You need a Vermont CDL in order to operate either commercial or non-commercial motor vehicles that fall into the following categories:

Class A
      Any combination of vehicles with a Gross Vehicle Weight Rating of 26,001 pounds or more, provided that the gross vehicle weight rating of the towed vehicle is in excess of 10,000 pounds. 

Class B
      Any single vehicle with a Gross Vehicle Weight Rating of 26,001 or more pounds, as well as any vehicle towing another vehicle that does not exceed a weight of 10,000 pounds. 

Class C
      Any vehicle or combination of vehicles that does not meet the criteria of either Class A or Class B, but is designed to transport 16 or more passengers (including the driver), or is used in transporting materials classified as hazardous in the Hazardous Materials Transportation Act. Each applicant must also have a passenger or hazardous materials endorsement in order to obtain a Class C commercial driver’s license. 

Applying for a Vermont Commercial Learner’s Permit

      You must already possess a Vermont commercial learner’s permit (CLP) before you can take the CDL Skills Test. Before applying for a Vermont commercial learner’s permit, you must already possess a valid Vermont Class D operator’s license. You will be issued a Vermont commercial driver’s license (CDL) when you pass both the written general knowledge test and the CDL Skills Test. 

      In order to obtain a commercial learner’s permit in the state of Vermont, you must:

  • Be at least 18 years old for intrastate driving (within the state of Vermont only).
  • Be at least 21 years of age for interstate driving (outside the state of Vermont).
  • Be at least 21 years of age to transport materials deemed hazardous.
  • Be at least 21 years of age to transport passengers in a CMV.
  • Possess a valid Vermont Class D operator’s license.
  • Provide your current out-of-state driver’s license or I.D. card (if you are not currently licensed in the state of Vermont).
  • Provide original documented proof of your identification and date of birth (i.e., a certified birth certificate, valid U.S. passport, valid I.D. card).
  • Provide original documented proof of your Social Security number (i.e., your Social Security card, W-2 form, pay stub with your name/SSN).
  • Provide original documented proof of U.S. legal presence (i.e., a certified birth certificate, valid U.S. passport, valid I.D. card).
  • Provide proof of your current Vermont residency that shows your name and address (i.e., a utility bill, vehicle registration, W-2 form).
  • Provide your current Medical Examiner’s Certificate and completed Medical Examination Report (or medical waivers).  
  • Certify that your privilege to drive any motor vehicle is not currently suspended, revoked, canceled, or disqualified anywhere.
  • Certify that you currently hold no more than one driver’s license.
  • Self-certify that you intend to drive a CMV in either intrastate commerce or interstate commerce.
  • Pass the physical exam (must be administered by a FMCSA certified physician).
  • Pass the vision exam (you must have at least 20/40 vision in each eye with or without glasses).
  • Pass the color blindness test (you must be able to recognize green, red, and amber colors).
  • Complete, sign, and submit the Application for Commercial License/Permit.
  • Pass the CDL written knowledge test.
  • Pay the $35 initial CDL written knowledge test fee (the subsequent test fee is $30).
  • Pay the $13 fee for each CDL endorsement test.
  • Pay the $12 commercial learner’s permit fee (the fee is $13 for a duplicate CLP).

      If you have any questions about which documents to bring to your nearest Vermont DMV Office when you apply for your commercial learner’s permit, you can speak to a customer service representative at the Vermont Department of Motor Vehicles Help Desk by calling 802-828-2085 during normal business hours. The Vermont Department of Motor Vehicles is closed during all state holidays.

The CDL Written Tests

      The CDL written tests are administered at the Vermont DMV Offices. All commercial driver’s license applicants must pass the general knowledge written test in order to be eligible to receive a CDL. The CDL general knowledge test consists of 50 questions. In order to receive a passing score, each applicant is required to answer at least 80% of the questions correctly in the time allotted for that test. All written tests require a score of at least 80% to pass. Any applicant that exceeds the time limit or incorrectly answers too many questions on the general knowledge test will fail.

      Any applicant that uses any kind of test aid during the test will automatically fail the test. Anyone caught talking to another person during the test will automatically fail the test. Use of cell phones and camera devices is prohibited in the testing area. All applicants should arrive at the DMV Office at least one hour prior to closing when taking the written tests. 

      Once you successfully pass the CDL general knowledge written test, the Vermont Department of Motor Vehicles will issue you a commercial learner’s permit so that you can practice operating a commercial motor vehicle. The commercial learner’s permit will be valid for 12 months from the date of issuance.

      You may only operate a CMV under the supervision of a front seat passenger who is at least 21 years old and carries a valid Vermont CDL of the same class or greater than the class of vehicle you are operating. You may not operate any vehicle that is transporting materials deemed hazardous. 

      Over 60% of first time CDL applicants fail the written test! Be sure to download and study the Vermont CDL Manual, as it contains the information you need to pass the CDL knowledge tests, including some sample test questions.  The Vermont School Bus Manual is also available to download and study to help prepare you for the School Bus endorsement tests. 

      Our Free CDL Practice Tests will help prepare you for the actual CDL knowledge tests administered by the DMV.

      Click here to see the map and clickable list of Vermont DMV Offices that administer the CDL knowledge tests.
Vermont CDL Requirements

Get Your CDL in 4 Weeks and Make $40,000 or More Your First Year!

Are you ready to take the next step and begin your career as a well-paid professional truck driver? We’ve partnered with some of the best truck driving schools in the nation and have helped thousands of people just like you find a high quality truck driving school. We’ll make it easy for you to find the right school and get started training immediately.

Vermont CDL

The schools in our network hold one or more of the following quality standards:

  • State Licensure
  • PTDI Certification
  • Company Sponsored CDL Training
  • Nationally Recognized Accreditation
  • Job Placement Assistance for Those Who Qualify

Classes are filling up fast, so get started today by filling out the quick 1-minute form below! 

 

Applying for a Vermont Commercial Driver’s License

      In order to obtain a commercial driver’s license in the state of Vermont, you must:

  • Possess a valid Vermont commercial learner’s permit.
  • Possess a valid Vermont Class D operator’s license.
  • Possess a current D.O.T. card (cannot be more than 2 years old).
  • Provide proof of vehicle insurance and vehicle registration (must be verified before you can take the test).
  • Self-certify that you intend to drive a CMV in either intrastate commerce or interstate commerce.
  • Certify that your privilege to drive any motor vehicle is not currently suspended, revoked, canceled, or disqualified anywhere.
  • Provide a test vehicle of the same class as the CDL you are testing for that has passed inspection.
  • Provide a passenger that is 21 years of age or older with a valid Vermont CDL to ride with you in your test vehicle to the test location.
  • Complete, sign, and submit the Application for Commercial License/Permit.
  • Schedule an appointment for the CDL Skills Test (call 802-828-2085 to schedule a test appointment).
  • Pay the $20 CDL Skills Test Scheduling Deposit (may be applied towards a new CDL).
  • Pass the CDL Skills Test.
  • Pay the $35 initial Skills Test fee (the subsequent test fee is $30).
  • Pay the $75 fee for a four-year CDL (the fee is $13 for a duplicate or corrected CDL).
  • Pay the $50 fee for a two-year CDL (the fee is $13 for a duplicate or corrected CDL).
  • Have your photo taken for the commercial driver’s license.

The CDL Skills Test

      Once you obtain your commercial learner’s permit, you will be allowed to schedule an appointment to take the CDL Skills Test at any Vermont DMV Office or state certified CDL Third Party Test Site that administers the Skills Test. The CDL Skills Test is given by appointment only. Walk-ins are not permitted. To schedule a test appointment, call the central number for scheduling exams at (802) 828-2085. All CDL Skills Test locations are listed on page VT-2 of the Vermont CDL Manual.

      The CDL Skills Test is a three part test that consists of a Pre-trip Inspection, a Basic Vehicle Controls Test, and an On-Road Driving Test. You will be required to take the test in the same class and type of motor vehicle that you plan to drive once you obtain your CDL. If you take the CDL Skills Test in a commercial motor vehicle that is not equipped with air brakes, then you will have an air brakes restriction attached to your commercial driver’s license.  If you fail any one part of the CDL Skills Test, you will be required to retake the entire test again.

  • Pre-trip Inspection: Before you can take the CDL driving tests, you will first be tested on your knowledge of the class of vehicle you plan on driving once you obtain your CDL. The Pre-trip inspection also determines if your commercial vehicle is safe enough to drive on public roads. If you fail the Pre-trip Inspection, you may not be allowed to take the Road Skills Test. 
  • Basic Controls Test: Before you can take the Road Skills Test, you will first need to prove that you have the skills to operate a commercial motor vehicle on public roads. This test consists of various off-road maneuvers such as backing up your vehicle, moving your vehicle forward, and making turns within a defined area. 
  • Road Skills Test: Once you pass the first two tests, you will be required to drive your commercial vehicle on public roads in various traffic situations. You will be required to operate the same class of commercial vehicle you plan to drive once you obtain your CDL.

      The Basic Controls Test will most likely include the following maneuvers:

  • 90 degree alley docking
  • Straight line backing
  • Parallel parking (driver side)
  • Parallel parking (conventional)
  • Offset back/right
  • Offset back/left

      The Road Skills Test will be administered on a route predetermined by the examiner. The test route will most likely include the following:

  • Starting
  • Stopping
  • Braking
  • Turning
  • Observing traffic signs
  • Observing traffic signals
  • Observing other traffic
  • Using vehicle controls
  • Maintaining proper lane positions
  • Downgrades
  • Downgrade stopping
  • Upgrades
  • Upgrade stopping
  • Railroad crossings
  • Bridge clearance
  • Underpass clearance
  • General observance of traffic laws
  • General safe driving practices for trucks or buses

     On the day of your CDL Skills Test appointment you must:

  1. Arrive on time.
  2. Bring your validated commercial learner’s permit.
  3. Bring your valid D.O.T. medical card (cannot be more than 2 years old).
  4. Bring a passenger (age 21 or older) that is qualified to drive a CMV with the same class of CDL or greater than the test vehicle.
  5. Bring a test vehicle that is the same class of license that you are testing for and that has passed inspection.

      Failure to do any of the above may result in an immediate cancellation of your CDL Skills Test appointment! The Vermont Department of Motor Vehicles advises applicants to schedule their Skills Test appointment a few weeks in advance and to arrive early for their test appointment. If you decide to cancel your Skills Test appointment, you must cancel the appointment no less than 48 hours before your scheduled test date and time. 

      The Vermont Department of Motor Vehicles has the right to cancel any CDL Skills Test appointment due to bad weather, under sourced staffing, or any other unforseen circumstances. Be sure to call the DMV Office or CDL Third Party Test Site on the day of your Skills Test to see if your appointment has been cancelled.

      Be sure to download and study the Vermont CDL Manual, as it contains pertinent information that will help you pass the CDL Skills Test. The Vermont School Bus Manual is also available to download and study to help prepare you for the School Bus endorsement tests.

      Click here to see the map and clickable list of Vermont DMV Offices and CDL Third Party Test Sites where you can take the CDL Skills Test.

Commercial Driver Self-Certification

      In the state of Vermont, all commercial driver’s license holders must self-certify as to what type of driving they will be doing (intrastate or interstate), and whether they meet or exceed the medical and physical standards put forth by the Federal Motor Carrier Safety Administration to legally and safely operate a commercial motor vehicle. All CDL applicants must self-certify once they obtain their commercial driver’s license.   

      You are required to self-certify whenever you:

  • Apply for a commercial driver’s license.
  • Renew a commercial driver’s license.
  • Apply for a higher class of commercial driver’s license.
  • Apply for a new CDL endorsement.
  • Transfer a commercial driver’s license from another state.

       All commercial drivers who intend to operate a commercial motor vehicle for the following purposes only, do not require a commercial driver’s license and are considered “exempt” and therefore are waived from self-certification:

  • Persons operating Special Purpose Commercial vehicle with a GVWR of 26,000 lbs. or less. 
  • Fire and emergency vehicles used to preserve life and property or to carry out governmental operations.
  • Vehicles operated by non-civilian operators of military equipment.
  • Recreational vehicles that are being used for personal recreational use only.
  • Any farm vehicle used to transport agricultural products, farm machinery, or farm supplies within 150 air-miles of the owner’s farm and not used in the operation of a common or contract motor carrier.

      If you intend to operate a commercial motor vehicle for any other purpose than those listed above, then you are considered “non-exempt” and are required to hold a valid CDL and must self-certify. You may also need to provide a current Medical Examiner’s Certificate.

      If you operate a commercial motor vehicle in either intrastate or interstate commerce solely for the following purposes, then you are under “excepted” status, and therefore do not need to provide a Medical Examiner’s Certificate:

  • Transporting school children and/or school staff members between home and school.
  • Operating any vehicle as an employee of either Federal, State, or Local government.
  • Operating fire and rescue vehicles for emergency purposes and other related events.
  • Transporting sick, injured, or deceased persons.
  • Primarily transporting propane heating fuel when responding to an emergency condition requiring an immediate response.
  • When responding to a pipeline emergency requiring an immediate response such as a pipeline leak or rupture.
  • When custom harvesting on a farm or to haul farm machinery and supplies to and from a farm or when transporting crops between a farm and a market or storage facility.
  • When operating a farm vehicle that is not a combo vehicle (power unit and towed unit), and is used to haul agricultural products, farm supplies (cannot be materials deemed hazardous), or farm machinery to and from a farm and within 150 air miles of the farm.
  • Transporting bees as an apiarist during beekeeping season.
  • When transporting migrant workers.
  • As a private motor carrier of passengers for non-business activities.

      If you intend to operate a commercial motor vehicle for any other purpose than those listed above, then you operate in either “non-excepted” interstate commerce, “non-excepted” intrastate commerce, or both. You are considered a “non-excepted” interstate driver if you:

  1. Cross Vermont state lines while operating a commercial vehicle.
  2. Transport any cargo that originated from outside the state of Vermont or is headed to a destination that is outside the state of Vermont.

      You are considered a”non-excepted” intrastate driver if you:

  1. Operating a commercial vehicle within the state of Vermont only.
  2. Transport any cargo that originated within the state of Vermont and is headed to a destination within Vermont state lines.

       “Non excepted” interstate drivers and “non-excepted” intrastate drivers must submit a current Medical Examiner’s Certificate along with a completed and signed copy of the CDL Medical Certification Form. The Medical Examiner’s Certificate cannot expire within 60 days from the date of submission. All “excepted” interstate drivers and “excepted intrastate drivers must complete, sign, and submit the CDL Medical Certification Form only. “Excepted” drivers do not have to provide a Medical Examiner’s Certificate, but may still have to undergo a physical examination. All commercial drivers, no matter what their self-certification status is, can submit their documents by mail, fax, or email.

      If you have any questions regarding self-certification you can check out the CDL Medical Self-Certification Information Sheet, or you can speak to a customer service representative at the Vermont Department of Motor Vehicles CDL Help Desk by calling (802) 828-2085. Please have your commercial driver’s license number readily available when you callYou can also contact the CDL Help Desk by email at medcert@state.vt.us.

      For more information about the Medical Examiner’s Certificate, please continue reading below.

Medical Examination Report for Commercial Driver’s License

      All CDL applicants must have the Medical Examiner’s Certificate and the Medical Examination Report completed by one of the following:

  • Licensed U.S. doctor of medicine (M.D.)
  • Doctor of Osteopathy (D.O)
  • Licensed physician assistant (P.A.)
  • Advanced practice registered nurse
  • Chiropractor

      The Medical Examiner’s Certificate must be attached to the Medical Examination Report and dated within the previous two years if you are renewing your commercial driver’s license. If you are a first time CDL applicant submitting your Medical Examiner’s Certificate, then the certificate must not expire within 60 days from the date of submission.

      The Vermont Department of Motor Vehicles will only accept your medical forms if they have been completed by a qualified physician who has been certified by the Federal Motor Carrier Safety Administration. You can search for a FMCSA certified physician by using the National Registry of Certified Medical Examiners.

      The FMSCA requires you to have at least 20/40 vision in each eye and a field of vision of at least 140 degrees (70 degrees in each eye) in order to be certified to operate a commercial motor vehicle. Under certain conditions, you may be able to be waived from these and other medical requirements.    

      Once you have completed and signed the Medical Examiner’s Certificate, the Medical Examination Report, the CDL Medical Certification Form, and any applicable medical waivers, you can submit your documents by doing any of the following:

  • Fax your completed and signed documents to (802) 828-5548.
  • Scan and email your completed and signed documents in PDF format (as an email attachment) to DMV.MedCert@state.vt.us.      
  • Mail your completed and signed documents to:

                              Vermont Department of Motor Vehicles 
                              Commercial Driver License Unit 
                              120 State St 
                              Montpelier, VT 05603-0001                                                                                                    

      Please include your name, address, and contact number on all mailings, faxes, and emails. If you scan and email your documents, the medical examiner’s signature must be visible. Make sure your information is legible and be sure to double check and, if needed, correct any errors before submitting your documents. All CDL applicants are advised to keep copies of these documents for their own records. Failure to comply with state and federal self-certification regulations will result in a cancellation of your commercial driving privileges.

         If you have any questions regarding self-certification you can check out the CDL Medical Self-Certification Information Sheet, or you can speak to a customer service representative at the Vermont Department of Motor Vehicles CDL Help Desk by calling (802) 828-2085. Please have your commercial driver’s license number readily available when you callYou can also contact the CDL Help Desk by email at medcert@state.vt.us.

Medical Examination Report for School Bus Endorsement

      If you are applying for a School Bus endorsement, you and the FMCSA approved medical examiner must complete, sign , and submit the Universal Medical Evaluation/Progress Report and the Vermont Medical Examiner’s Certificate (DOT Card). Be sure to download and study the Vermont School Bus Manual to help prepare you for the School Bus endorsement tests.

Hazmat Endorsement

      Any person that is applying for a Hazardous Materials CDL endorsement is required to undergo a federal background check and federal fingerprint check according to guidelines set by the Transportation Security Administration. All applicants must also provide the required documents to verify their identification and legal U.S. status. For more information, check out the Transportation Security Administration’s F.A.Q. page.

      You can apply for the security threat assessment on the TSA Hazardous Material Endorsement Enrollment Website. You must begin applying at least 30 days before the expiration of your CDL. You can start the application process on the HTAP Online Application Website. To apply by phone call (855) 347-8371. Use the TSA Enrollment Center Locator to find the nearest TSA approved fingerprint office. 

Military Drivers

      In the state of Vermont, if you are currently serving in the military or have been honorably discharged within the last 90 days, and you have driven military vehicles that would require a CDL to operate as a civilian with a 2 year safe driving record, then you may qualify for the waiver of the CDL Skills Test and may be exempt from taking the commercial driver skills test. You will still be required to take the written tests. Certain restrictions apply. Download, print, and complete the Application for Military Skills Test Waiver to start the process. 

      If you have any questions about the Application for Military Skills Test Waiver, you can speak to a customer service representative at the Vermont Department of Motor Vehicles Help Desk by calling 802-828-2085 during normal business hours. The Vermont Department of Motor Vehicles is closed during state holidays.

Vermont CDL Endorsements

      H      Placarded Hazmat      Required to transport hazardous materials under DOT regulations. 

      N      Tank Vehicles      Required to transport liquids in bulk containers of 1,000 gallons or more.

      X      Tanker/Hazardous Materials Combination   Required to transport hazardous materials in tank vehicles   

      T      Double/Triple Trailers      Indicates CDL holder is certified to operate multiple trailer haulers. 

      P     Passengers      Indicates the CDL holder is certified to operate passenger vehicles.

      S     School Bus      Indicates the CDL holder is authorized to operate a school bus.  

Methods of Payment

      All Vermont DMV Offices accept the following methods of payment:

  • Cash
  • Personal Checks
  • Traveler’s Checks
  • Money Orders
  • Credit Cards 
  • Debit Cards

      All fees are non-refundable and are subject to change without notice.

Important Vermont Commercial Driver’s License Resources 

Vermont CDL Manual
Vermont School Bus Manual
Vermont CDL Practice Tests
A Guide to Motor Carrier Safety Regulations in Vermont
Rules and Instructions Governing Overweight and Overdimension Vehicle Permits
Application for Commercial License/Permit
Single Trip Permit to Operate a Motor Vehicle in Excess of Statutory Weight or Dimension Limits
Blanket Permit Application for Overweight and Overdimension Vehicles
CDL Disqualifications Fact Sheet
Vermont Application for Military Skills Test Waiver
Application for Military Skills Test Waiver
CDL Medical Self-Certification Information Sheet
CDL Medical Certification Form
Medical Examination Report Form 649-F
Medical Examiner’s Certificate
National Registry of Certified Medical Examiners

 

      Check out our list of truck driving schools in Vermont that will provide you with the necessary skills to obtain your commercial driver’s license and start your career in the exciting field of commercial truck driving! You may also want to check out our nationwide list of truck driving schools. 

If you found this article helpful, feel free to share it on Google Plus and Facebook using the buttons below.

 

Map of Vermont DMV Office Locations

TitleAddress
1. Barre CDL Test Site 20 Auditorium Hill, Barre, VT 05641
2. Bennington Office 120 Depot Street, Bennington, VT 05201
3. Dummerston Mobile Location AOT District 2 Office, Route 5, Dummerston, VT 05301
4. Middlebury Mobile Location Addison County Courthouse, Hearing Room A, 7 Mahady Court, Middlebury VT 05753
5. Montpelier Main Office 120 State Street, Montpelier, VT 05603-0001
6. Newport Office 100 Main Street, Suite 130, Newport, VT 05855
7. Rutland Office 101 State Place, Rutland, VT 05701
8. South Burlington Office 4 Market Street, South Burlington, VT 05403
9. Springfield Office 100 Mineral Street Springfield, VT 05156
10. Saint Albans Mobile Location Elks Club, 44 Grice Brook Road, St. Albans, VT 05478
11. Saint Johnsbury Mobile Location Elks Lodge, 118 Western Avenue, St. Johnsbury, VT 05819
12. White River Junction Mobile Location VFW, 97 S. Main Street, White River Junction, VT 05001

 

Some CDL testing locations require you to set up an appointment. CDL testing hours may vary. Please call the testing location for more information.

 

Map of Vermont CDL Skills Test Locations

TitleAddress
1. Barre CDL Test Site 20 Auditorium Hill, Barre, VT 05641
2. Bennington AOT Garage Vermont Agency of Transportation, 359 Bowen Road, Bennington, VT 05201
3. Colchester AOT Garage Fort Ethan Allen, Agency of Transportation, 5 Barnes Avenue, Colchester, VT 05446
4. Rutland Office 101 State Place, Rutland, VT 05701
5. Saint Johnsbury Mobile Location Elks Lodge, 118 Western Avenue, St. Johnsbury, VT 05819
6. Springfield Fire Department 77 Hartness Avenue, Springfield, VT 05156

 

Some CDL testing locations require you to set up an appointment. CDL testing hours may vary. Please call the testing location for more information.

 

Please Note: Some of the documents linked on this page are in the Adobe Portable Document Format, also known as “PDF.” Adobe Acrobat Reader is required to view, fill out and print forms. If you have problems with Adobe Acrobat Reader, see the Adobe Troubleshooting page for possible solutions.

Copyright © 2017 Truck Driving Schools Info. All Rights Reserved | Home | Contact | About | Terms | Privacy

Vermont CDL Requirements
5 (100%) 1 vote