Utah CDL Requirements

Utah CDL Classes

      You must be at least 18 years old to operate a commercial motor vehicle within the state of Utah (intrastate) and at least 21 years of age to operate a commercial motor vehicle outside the state of Utah (interstate). You must also be at least 21 years old to transport materials that are deemed hazardous and to transport passengers using a commercial motor vehicle. You need a Utah CDL in order to operate either commercial or non-commercial motor vehicles that fall into the following categories:

Class A
      Any combination of vehicles with a Gross Vehicle Weight Rating of 26,001 pounds or more, provided that the gross vehicle weight rating of the towed vehicle is in excess of 10,000 pounds.  

Class B
      Any single vehicle with a Gross Vehicle Weight Rating of 26,001 or more pounds, as well as any vehicle towing another vehicle that does not exceed a weight of 10,000 pounds. 

Class C
      Any vehicle or combination of vehicles that does not meet the criteria of either Class A or Class B, but is designed to transport 16 or more passengers (including the driver), or is used in transporting materials classified as hazardous in the Hazardous Materials Transportation Act. Each applicant must also have a passenger or hazardous materials endorsement in order to obtain a Class C commercial driver’s license. 

Applying for a Utah Commercial Learner’s Permit

      You must already possess a Utah commercial learner’s permit (CLP) before you can take the CDL Skills Test. Before applying for a Utah commercial learner’s permit, you must already possess a valid Utah Class D driver’s license. You will be issued a Utah commercial driver’s license (CDL) when you pass both the written general knowledge test and the CDL Skills Test. 

      In order to obtain a Utah commercial learner’s permit, you must:

  • Be at least 18 years old for intrastate driving (within the state of Utah only).
  • Be at least 21 years of age for interstate driving (outside the state of Utah).
  • Be at least 21 years of age to transport materials deemed hazardous.
  • Be at least 21 years of age to transport passengers in a CMV.
  • Possess a valid Utah Class D driver’s license with at least one year of driving experience.
  • Provide your current out-of-state driver’s license or I.D. card (if you are not currently licensed in the state of Utah).
  • Provide original documented proof of your age and identification.
  • Provide original documented proof of your Social Security number.
  • Provide original documented proof of U.S. legal presence.
  • Provide proof of your current Utah residency that shows your name and address (i.e., a utility bill, vehicle registration, current filed tax return).
  • Provide your current Medical Examiner’s Certificate and completed Medical Examination Report (or medical waivers).  
  • Certify that your privilege to drive any motor vehicle is not currently suspended, revoked, canceled, or disqualified anywhere.
  • Certify that you currently hold no more than one driver’s license.
  • Complete, sign, and submit the Utah Drivers License Application.
  • Self-certify that you intend to drive a CMV in either intrastate commerce or interstate commerce.
  • Pass the physical exam (must be administered by a FMCSA certified physician).
  • Pass the vision exam (you must have at least 20/40 vision in each eye with or without glasses).
  • Pass the color blindness test (you must be able to recognize green, red, and amber colors).
  • Pass the CDL written knowledge test.
  • Pay the $40 CDL written test fee for every two test attempts (the retest fee is $20).

      You can apply for a commercial driver’s license at any Utah Driver License Office except the following locations:

  • Beaver
  • Farmington
  • Heber
  • Kanab
  • Logan
  • Provo
  • Tooele

      If you have any questions about which documents to bring to your nearest Utah Drivers License Office when you apply for your commercial learner’s permit, you can speak to a customer service representative at the Utah Driver License Division Customer Service Center by calling 1-888-353-4224 toll-free, or (801) 965-4437 during normal business hours.

The CDL Written Tests

      The CDL written tests are administered at most Drivers License Offices in multiple choice format in either computer or paper form. All commercial driver’s license applicants must pass the general knowledge written test in order to be eligible to receive a CDL. The CDL general knowledge test consists of 50 questions. In order to receive a passing score, each applicant is required to answer at least 80% of the questions correctly in the time allotted for that test. All written tests require a score of at least 80% to pass. Any applicant that exceeds the time limit or incorrectly answers too many questions on the general knowledge test will fail.

      All applicants are allowed two test attempts per day. The fee paid for each test allows the applicant to take the same test twice before they must pay again. Any applicant that uses any kind of test aid during the test will automatically fail the test. Anyone caught talking to another person during the test will automatically fail the test. Use of cell phones and camera devices is prohibited in the testing area. All applicants should arrive at the Drivers License Office at least one hour prior to closing when taking the written tests. 

      Once you successfully pass the CDL general knowledge written test, the Utah Department of Public Safety Driver License Division will issue you a commercial learner’s permit so that you can practice operating a commercial motor vehicle of the same class (you are permitted to operate a lesser class vehicle as well). The commercial learner’s permit will be valid for 6 months (180 consecutive days) from the date of issuance. You are permitted to renew the commercial learner’s permit once in a two year period.

      You may only operate a commercial motor vehicle under the supervision of a front seat passenger who is at least 21 years old and carries a valid Utah CDL of the same class or greater than the class of vehicle you are operating. You may not operate any vehicle that is transporting materials deemed hazardous. 

      Over 60% of first time CDL applicants fail the written test! Be sure to download and study the Utah Commercial Driver License Manual, as it contains the information you need to pass the CDL tests, including some sample test questions.  

      Our Free CDL Practice Tests will help prepare you for the actual CDL knowledge tests administered by the DMV.

      Click here to see the map and clickable list of Utah Drivers License Offices where you can take the CDL written knowledge tests.
Utah CDL Requirements

Get Your CDL in 4 Weeks and Make $40,000 or More Your First Year!

Are you ready to take the next step and begin your career as a well-paid professional truck driver? We’ve partnered with some of the best truck driving schools in the nation and have helped thousands of people just like you find a high quality truck driving school. We’ll make it easy for you to find the right school and get started training immediately.

Utah CDL

The schools in our network hold one or more of the following quality standards:

  • State Licensure
  • PTDI Certification
  • Company Sponsored CDL Training
  • Nationally Recognized Accreditation
  • Job Placement Assistance for Those Who Qualify

Classes are filling up fast, so get started today by filling out the quick 1-minute form below! 

 

Applying for a Utah Commercial Driver’s License

      In order to obtain a commercial driver’s license in the state of Utah, you must:

  • Possess a valid Utah commercial learner’s permit.
  • Possess a valid Utah Class D driver’s license with at least one year of driving experience.
  • Possess a current D.O.T. card (cannot be more than 2 years old).
  • Provide proof of vehicle insurance and vehicle registration (must be verified before you can take the test).
  • Self-certify that you intend to drive a CMV in either intrastate commerce or interstate commerce.
  • Certify that your privilege to drive any motor vehicle is not currently suspended, revoked, canceled, or disqualified anywhere.
  • Provide a test vehicle of the same class as the CDL you are testing for that has passed inspection.
  • Provide a passenger that is 21 years of age or older with a valid Utah CDL to ride with you in your test vehicle to the test location.
  • Schedule an appointment for the CDL Skills Test.
  • Pass the CDL Skills Test.
  • Pay the $60 CDL Skills Test fee (the retest fee is $40).
  • Pay the CDL Third Party Tester’s fee (if applicable).
  • Pay the $7 fee for each CDL endorsement (the retest fee is $7).
  • Have your photo taken for the commercial driver’s license.

The CDL Skills Test

      Once you obtain your commercial learner’s permit, you will be allowed to schedule an appointment to take the CDL Skills Test at any Utah Drivers License Office that administer the Skills Test. You may also take the Skills Test at a state certified CDL Third Party Testing Facility. The Drivers License Offices will not provide a vehicle for you to test in but, some CDL Third Party Testers do provide a rental vehicle.

      The CDL Skills Test is given by appointment only. Walk-ins are not permitted. To schedule a test appointment, contact a Utah Drivers License Office that offers the CDL Skills Test or contact a state certified CDL Third Party Tester. The Skills Test fees charged by the state certified CDL Third Party Testers may vary.

      The CDL Skills Test is a three part test that consists of a Pre-trip Inspection, a Basic Vehicle Controls Test, and an On-Road Driving Test. You will be required to take the test in the same class and type of motor vehicle that you plan to drive once you obtain your CDL. If you take the Skills Test in a commercial motor vehicle that is not equipped with air brakes, then you will have an air brakes restriction attached to your commercial driver’s license.  If you fail any one part of the CDL Skills Test, you will be required to retake the entire test again. Only one Skills Test can be taken per day.

  • Pre-trip Inspection: Before you can take the CDL driving tests, you will first be tested on your knowledge of the class of vehicle you plan on driving once you obtain your CDL. The Pre-trip inspection also determines if your commercial vehicle is safe enough to drive on public roads. If you fail the Pre-trip Inspection, you may not be allowed to take the Road Skills Test. 
  • Basic Controls Test: Before you can take the Road Skills Test, you will first need to prove that you have the skills to operate a commercial motor vehicle on public roads. This test consists of various off-road maneuvers such as backing up your vehicle, moving your vehicle forward, and making turns within a defined area. 
  • Road Skills Test: Once you pass the first two tests, you will be required to drive your commercial vehicle on public roads in various traffic situations. You will be required to operate the same class of commercial vehicle you plan to drive once you obtain your CDL.

      The Basic Controls Test will most likely include the following maneuvers:

  • 90 degree alley docking
  • Straight line backing
  • Parallel parking (driver side)
  • Parallel parking (conventional)
  • Offset back to the right
  • Offset back to the left

      The Road Skills Test will be administered on a route predetermined by the examiner. The test route will most likely include the following:

  • Starting
  • Stopping
  • Braking
  • Turning
  • Observing traffic signs
  • Observing traffic signals
  • Observing other traffic
  • Using vehicle controls
  • Maintaining proper lane positions
  • Downgrades
  • Downgrade stopping
  • Upgrades
  • Upgrade stopping
  • Railroad crossings
  • Bridge clearance
  • Underpass clearance
  • General observance of traffic laws
  • General safe driving practices for trucks or buses

     On the day of your CDL Skills Test appointment you must:

  1. Arrive on time.
  2. Bring your validated commercial learner’s permit.
  3. Bring your valid D.O.T. medical card (cannot be more than 2 years old).
  4. Bring a passenger (age 21 or older) that is qualified to drive a CMV with the same class of CDL or greater than the test vehicle.
  5. Bring a test vehicle that is the same class of license that you are testing for and that has passed inspection.

      Failure to do any of the above may result in an immediate cancellation of your CDL Skills Test appointment! The Utah Department of Public Safety Driver License Division advises applicants to schedule their Skills Test appointment a few weeks in advance and to arrive early for their test appointment. If you decide to cancel your Skills Test appointment, you must cancel the appointment no less than 24 hours before your scheduled test date and time. 

      The Utah Department of Public Safety Driver License Division has the right to cancel any CDL Skills Test appointment due to bad weather, under sourced staffing, or any other unforseen circumstances. Be sure to call the Utah Driver License Office or CDL Third Party Tester on the day of your Skills Test to see if your appointment has been cancelled.

      Be sure to download and study the Utah Commercial Driver License Manual, as it contains pertinent information that will help you pass the CDL Skills Test. 

      Click here to see the map and clickable list of Utah Drivers License Offices where you can take the CDL Skills Test. Click here to see the list of Utah approved CDL Third Party Testers.

Commercial Driver Self-Certification

      In the state of Utah, all commercial driver’s license holders must self-certify as to what type of driving they will be doing (intrastate or interstate), and whether they meet or exceed the medical and physical standards put forth by the Federal Motor Carrier Safety Administration to legally and safely operate a commercial motor vehicle. All CDL applicants must self-certify once they obtain their commercial driver’s license.   

      You are required to self-certify whenever you:

  • Apply for a commercial driver’s license.
  • Renew a commercial driver’s license.
  • Apply for a higher class of commercial driver’s license.
  • Apply for a new CDL endorsement.
  • Transfer a commercial driver’s license from another state.

      You must self-certify every two years as long as you carry a commercial driver’s license.

       All commercial drivers who intend to operate a commercial motor vehicle for the following purposes only, do not require a commercial driver’s license and are considered “exempt” and therefore are waived from self-certification:

  • Fire and emergency vehicles used to preserve life and property or to carry out governmental operations.
  • Vehicles operated by non-civilian operators of military equipment.
  • Recreational vehicles that are being used for personal recreational use only.
  • Any farm vehicle used to transport agricultural products, farm machinery, or farm supplies within 150 air-miles of the owner’s farm and not used in the operation of a common or contract motor carrier.

      If you intend to operate a commercial motor vehicle for any other purpose than those listed above, then you are considered “non-exempt” and are required to hold a valid CDL and must self-certify. You may also need to provide a current Medical Examiner’s Certificate.

      If you operate a commercial motor vehicle in either intrastate or interstate commerce solely for the following purposes, then you are under “excepted” status, and therefore do not need to provide a Medical Examiner’s Certificate:

  • Transporting school children and/or school staff members between home and school.
  • Operating any vehicle as an employee of either Federal, State, or Local government.
  • Operating fire and rescue vehicles for emergency purposes and other related events.
  • Transporting sick, injured, or deceased persons.
  • Primarily transporting propane heating fuel when responding to an emergency condition requiring an immediate response.
  • When responding to a pipeline emergency requiring an immediate response such as a pipeline leak or rupture.
  • When custom harvesting on a farm or to haul farm machinery and supplies to and from a farm or when transporting crops between a farm and a market or storage facility.
  • When operating a farm vehicle that is not a combo vehicle (power unit and towed unit), and is used to haul agricultural products, farm supplies (cannot be materials deemed hazardous), or farm machinery to and from a farm and within 150 air miles of the farm.
  • Transporting bees as an apiarist during beekeeping season.
  • When transporting migrant workers.
  • As a private motor carrier of passengers for non-business activities.

      If you intend to operate a commercial motor vehicle for any other purpose than those listed above, then you operate in either “non-excepted” interstate commerce, “non-excepted” intrastate commerce, or both. You are considered a “non-excepted” interstate driver if you:

  1. Cross Utah state lines while operating a commercial vehicle.
  2. Transport any cargo that originated from outside the state of Utah or is headed to a destination that is outside the state of Utah.

      You are considered a”non-excepted” intrastate driver if you:

  1. Operating a commercial vehicle within the state of Utah only.
  2. Transport any cargo that originated within the state of Utah and is headed to a destination within Utah state lines.

       “Non excepted” interstate drivers and “non-excepted” intrastate drivers must submit a current Medical Examiner’s Certificate along with a completed and signed copy of the Commercial Driver License Medical Self Certification Form. The Medical Examiner’s Certificate cannot expire within 60 days from the date of submission. “Excepted” interstate drivers and “excepted” intrastate drivers must complete, sign, and submit the Commercial Driver License Medical Self Certification Form only. “Excepted” drivers do not have to submit a Medical Examiner’s Certificate but may have to undergo a physical examination. All commercial drivers can submit their documents by mail, fax, or email no matter what their self-certification status is.

      If you have any questions regarding self-certification, you can speak to a customer service representative at the Utah Driver License Division Customer Service Center by calling 1-888-353-4224 toll-free, or (801) 965-4437 during normal business hours.

      For more information about the Medical Examiner’s Certificate, please continue reading below.

Medical Examination Report for Commercial Driver’s License

      All CDL applicants must have the Medical Examiner’s Certificate and the Medical Examination Report completed by one of the following:

  • Licensed U.S. doctor of medicine (M.D.)
  • Doctor of Osteopathy (D.O)
  • Licensed physician assistant (P.A.)
  • Advanced practice registered nurse
  • Chiropractor

      The Medical Examiner’s Certificate must be attached to the Medical Examination Report and dated within the previous two years if you are renewing your commercial driver’s license. If you are a first time CDL applicant submitting your Medical Examiner’s Certificate, then the certificate must not expire within 60 days from the date of submission. If you are renewing your CDL, then you must submit your documents no later than 45 days following the expiration of your Medical Examiner’s Certificate.

      The Utah Department of Public Safety Driver License Division will only accept your medical forms if they have been completed by a qualified physician who has been certified by the Federal Motor Carrier Safety Administration. You can search for a FMCSA certified physician by using the National Registry of Certified Medical Examiners.

      The FMSCA requires you to have at least 20/40 vision in each eye and a field of vision of at least 140 degrees (70 degrees in each eye) in order to be certified to operate a commercial motor vehicle. Under certain conditions, you may be able to be waived from these and other medical requirements.    

      Once you have completed and signed the Medical Examiner’s Certificate, the Medical Examination Report, the Commercial Driver License Medical Self Certification Form, and any applicable medical waivers, you can submit your documents by doing any of the following:

  • Fax your completed and signed documents to (801) 957-8633.
  • Scan and email your completed and signed documents in PDF format (as an email attachment) to dlmedcert@utah.gov.      
  • Mail your completed and signed documents to:

                              Driver License Division 
                              PO Box 144501 
                              Salt Lake City, Utah 84114-4501                                                                                           

      Please include your name, address, and contact phone number on all mailings, faxes, and emails. Make sure your information is legible and be sure to double check and, if needed, correct any errors before submitting your documents. All CDL applicants are advised to keep copies of these documents for their own records. Failure to comply with state and federal self-certification regulations will result in a cancellation of your commercial driving privileges.

         If you have any questions regarding self-certification, you can speak to a customer service representative at the Utah Driver License Division Customer Service Center by calling 1-888-353-4224 toll-free, or (801) 965-4437 during normal business hours.

Hazmat Endorsement

      Any person that is applying for a Hazardous Materials CDL endorsement is required to undergo a federal background check and federal fingerprint check according to guidelines set by the Transportation Security Administration. All applicants must also provide the required documents to verify their identification and legal U.S. status. For more information, check out the Transportation Security Administration’s F.A.Q. page.

      You can apply for the security threat assessment on the TSA Hazardous Material Endorsement Enrollment Website. You must begin applying at least 30 days before the expiration of your CDL. You can start the application process on the HTAP Online Application Website. To apply by phone call (855) 347-8371. Use the TSA Enrollment Center Locator to find the nearest TSA approved fingerprint office. 

Military Drivers

      In the state of Utah, if you are currently serving in the military or have been honorably discharged within the last 90 days, and you have driven military vehicles that would require a CDL to operate as a civilian with a 2 year safe driving record, then you may qualify for the waiver of the CDL Skills Test and may be exempt from taking the commercial driver skills test. You will still be required to take the written tests. Certain restrictions apply. Download, print, and complete the Application for Military Skills Test Waiver to start the process. 

      If you have any questions about the Application for Military Skills Test Waiver, you can speak to a customer service representative at the Utah Driver License Division Customer Service Center by calling 1-888-353-4224 toll-free, or (801) 965-4437 during normal business hours.

Utah CDL Endorsements

      H      Placarded Hazmat      Required to transport hazardous materials under DOT regulations. 

      N      Tank Vehicles      Required to transport liquids in bulk containers of 1,000 gallons or more.

      X      Tanker/Hazardous Materials Combination   Required to transport hazardous materials in tank vehicles   

      T      Double/Triple Trailers      Indicates CDL holder is certified to operate multiple trailer haulers. 

      P     Passengers      Indicates the CDL holder is certified to operate passenger vehicles.

      S     School Bus      Indicates the CDL holder is authorized to operate a school bus.  

Utah CDL Restrictions

      A      No Restrictions

      B      Corrective Lenses

      E      Automatic Transmission

      J      CDL Restriction

      K      Intrastate Only

      L      No Air Brakes

      M      Except Class A Bus

      N      Except Class B Bus

      V      Variance

Methods of Payment

      All Utah Driver License Offices accept the following methods of payment:

  • Cash
  • Checks
  • Money Orders
  • Credit Cards 

      All fees are non-refundable and subject to change without notice.

Important Utah Commercial Driver’s License Resources 

Utah Commercial Driver License Manual
Utah CDL Practice Tests
Utah Drivers License Application
Utah Department of Public Safety Acceptable Documents of Identification
Utah CDL Third Party Testers List
Application for Military Skills Test Waiver
Commercial Driver License Medical Self Certification Form
Medical Examination Report Form 649-F
Medical Examiner’s Certificate
National Registry of Certified Medical Examiners

 

      Check out our list of truck driving schools in Utah that will provide you with the necessary skills to obtain your commercial driver’s license and start your career in the exciting field of commercial truck driving! You may also want to check out our nationwide list of truck driving schools.

If you found this article helpful, feel free to share it on Google Plus and Facebook using the buttons below.

 

Map of Utah Driver License Offices

TitleAddress
1. Beaver DLO Beaver County Administration Office, 105 East Center Street, 2nd Floor, Beaver, Utah 84713
2. Blanding DLO 151 E. 500 North, Blanding, Utah 84511-2720
3. Brigham City DLO 285 W. 1100 South, Brigham City, Utah 84302-3116
4. Cedar City DLO 91 E. Canyon Commercial Avenue, Cedar City, Utah 84721
5. Delta DLO 58 E. Main Street, Suite 2, Delta, Utah 84624
6. Dixie DLO 102 S. 5300 West, Hurricane, Utah 84737
7. Ephraim DLO 10 W. 1st South, Ephraim, Utah 84627
8. Farmington DLO 631 N. Lagoon Drive, PO Box 298, Farmington, Utah 84025
9. Fillmore DLO 55 W. 100 North, Fillmore, Utah 84631
10. Heber DLO 69 N. 600 West, Heber, Utah 84032
11. Kanab DLO 468 E. 300 South, Kanab, Utah 84741
12. Logan DLO 110 E. 700 South, Logan, Utah 84321
13. Moab DLO 1165 S. Hwy 191, Suite 8, Moab, Utah 84532-2719
14. Nephi DLO 1143 E. Hwy 132, Nephi, Utah 84648-1412
15. Ogden DLO 615 E. 5300 South, South Ogden, Utah 84405
16. Orem DLO 759 N. 1370 West, Orem, Utah 84057
17. Panguitch DLO Court House, Basement, 55 S. Main Street, Panguitch, Utah 84759
18. Price DLO 940 S. Carbon Avenue, Basement, Price, Utah 84501
19. Provo DLO *No CDL Tests* Community Credit Union Bldg, 1503 S. 40 East, Suite 250, Provo, Utah 84606
20. Richfield DLO 1160 S. Hwy 118, Richfield, Utah 84701
21. Roosevelt DLO 30 W. 425 South, Suite 330-10, Roosevelt, Utah 84066-3703
22. Salt Lake City-Fairpark DLO 1095 Motor Avenue, Salt Lake City, Utah 84116
23. Salt Lake City-West Valley DLO 2780 W. 4700 South, Salt Lake City, Utah 84129-2122
24. Salt Lake City-Draper DLO 14555 S. Minuteman Drive, Draper, Utah 84020
25. Tooele DLO 1929 N. Aaron Drive, Suite G Tooele, Utah 84074-8112
26. Vernal DLO 152 East 100 North Vernal, Utah 84078

 

Some Driver License Offices require you to schedule an appointment to take the CDL written and Skills Tests. Not all Driver License Offices provide CDL Tests. Please call the Driver License Office for more information.

 

Please Note: Some of the documents linked on this page are in the Adobe Portable Document Format, also known as “PDF.” Adobe Acrobat Reader is required to view, fill out and print forms. If you have problems with Adobe Acrobat Reader, see the Adobe Troubleshooting page for possible solutions.

Copyright © 2017 Truck Driving Schools Info. All Rights Reserved | Home | Contact | About | Terms | Privacy

Utah CDL Requirements
5 (100%) 1 vote