New Jersey CDL Requirements

New Jersey CDL Classes

      You must be at least 18 years old to operate a commercial motor vehicle within the state of New Jersey (intrastate) and at least 21 years of age to drive a commercial motor vehicle outside the state of New Jersey (interstate). You must also be at least 21 years old, with at least three years of driving experience, to transport materials that are deemed hazardous and to transport passengers using a commercial motor vehicle. You need a New Jersey CDL in order to operate either commercial or non-commercial motor vehicles that fall into the following categories:

Class A
      Any combination of vehicles with a Gross Vehicle Weight Rating of 26,001 pounds or more, provided that the gross vehicle weight rating of the towed vehicle is in excess of 10,000 pounds.  

Class B
      Any single vehicle with a Gross Vehicle Weight Rating of 26,001 or more pounds, as well as any vehicle towing another vehicle that does not exceed a weight of 10,000 pounds. 

Class C
      Any vehicle or combination of vehicles that does not meet the criteria of either Class A or Class B, but is designed to transport 16 or more passengers (including the driver), or is used in transporting materials classified as hazardous in the Hazardous Materials Transportation Act. Each applicant must also have a passenger or hazardous materials endorsement in order to obtain a Class C commercial driver’s license. 

Applying for a New Jersey Commercial Learner’s Permit

      You must already possess a New Jersey commercial learner’s permit (CLP) before you can take the CDL Road Test. Before applying for a New Jersey commercial learner’s permit, you must already possess a valid New Jersey Class D driver’s license. You will be issued a New Jersey commercial driver’s license (CDL) when you pass both the written general knowledge test and the CDL Road Test. 

      In order to obtain a New Jersey commercial learner’s permit, you must:

  •       Be at least 18 years old for intrastate driving (within the state of New Jersey only).
  •       Be at least 21 years of age for interstate driving (outside the state of New Jersey).
  •       Be at least 21 years of age to transport materials deemed hazardous.
  •       Be at least 21 years of age to transport passengers in a CMV.
  •       Possess a valid New Jersey Class D driver’s license.
  •       Provide your current out-of-state driver’s license or I.D. card (if you are not currently licensed in New Jersey).
  •       Provide your Social Security card.
  •       Provide your primary and secondary documents of identification.
  •       Prove you are of legal U.S. status by providing the required documents.
  •       Provide proof of your current New Jersey residency that shows your name and address (i.e., a utility bill, vehicle registration, insurance card, etc.).
  •       Provide your current D.O.T. Medical Examiner’s Certificate and completed Medical Examination Report.  
  •       Provide your New Jersey Universal Fingerprint Form (only if you are applying for a Class C Passenger endorsement).
  •       Pass the physical (must be administered by a FMCSA certified physician).
  •       Pass the vision exam (you must have at least 20/40 vision in each eye with or without glasses).
  •       Pass the color blindness test (you must be able to recognize green, red, and amber colors).
  •       Complete and sign the Commercial Learner’s Permit Application.
  •       Pass the CDL written knowledge test.
  •       Pay the $125 commercial learner’s permit fee.
  •       Pay the $24 Class D driver’s license fee (only if you do not already have a valid New Jersey Class D driver’s license).

      If you have any questions about which documents to bring to your nearest New Jersey Motor Vehicle Commission agency when you apply for your commercial learner’s permit, you can use the 6 Point ID Document Selector or check out the 6 Point ID Info Guide. If you still have questions, you can either call your local New Jersey MVC agency or, you can call the New Jersey Motor Vehicle Commission Driver License Info line toll-free (in New Jersey only) at (888) 486-3339 or directly at (609) 292-6500 and speak to a customer service representative. You can also contact the New Jersey Motor Vehicle Commission by email.

CDL Written Tests

      All commercial driver’s license applicants must pass the general knowledge written test in order to be eligible to receive a CDL. If you are a truck driver, you must first pay the $125 commercial learner’s permit fee before you can take the general knowledge written test. If you are a bus driver, you cannot take the knowledge test until you have the Medical Examination Report completed and signed by a FMCSA certified physician. If you are applying for a Class C passenger endorsement, you will not be allowed to take the knowledge test until you have the Medical Examination Report completed and signed by a FMCSA certified physician. You will need to have the New Jersey Universal Fingerprint Form completed and signed as well.

      The CDL general knowledge test consists of 50 questions. In order to receive a passing score, each applicant is required to answer at least 80% of the questions correctly in the time allotted for that test. All written tests require a score of at least 80% to pass. Any applicant that exceeds the time limit or incorrectly answers too many questions on the general knowledge test will fail and be forced to wait seven calendar days before they are allowed to take the test again. You may retake the general knowledge test as many times as you need to pass but, if you do not pass the test within 180 consecutive days, you will be required to renew your commercial learner’s permit.

      Once you successfully pass the CDL general knowledge written test, the New Jersey Motor Vehicle Commission will validate your commercial learner’s permit so that you can practice operating a commercial motor vehicle. You may only operate a CMV under the supervision of a front seat passenger who is at least 21 years old and carries a valid CDL of the same class or greater than the class of vehicle you are operating. 

      The commercial learner’s permit will be valid for up to 180 consecutive days from the date it is issued. If you do not successfully pass the CDL Road Test and obtain your commercial driver’s license before your commercial learner’s permit expires, then you will be required to renew your commercial learner’s permit.  

      Over 60% of first time CDL applicants fail the written test! Be sure to download and study the New Jersey Commercial Driver License Manual as it contains the information you need to pass the CDL tests, including some sample test questions. El Manual de Licencia de Chofer Comercial también está disponible en español. 

      Our Free CDL Practice Tests will help prepare you for the actual CDL knowledge tests administered by the DMV.

      Click here to see the map and clickable list of New Jersey MVC agencies that offer the CDL written tests.

Let Truck Driving Schools Info Connect You With a Reputable CDL Training School In Your Area!

Are you ready to take the next step and begin your career as a well-paid professional truck driver? Our large network of nationally recognized truck driving schools will make it easy for you to find the right school and get started training immediately. The schools in our network hold one or more of the following quality standards:

  • State Licensure
  • PTDI Certification
  • Nationally Recognized Accreditation

Simply fill out the 1-minute application below.

 

Applying for a New Jersey Commercial Driver’s License

      In order to obtain a commercial driver’s license in the state of New Jersey, you must:

  •       Possess a valid New Jersey commercial learner’s permit (CLP).
  •       Possess a valid New Jersey Class D driver’s license.
  •       Possess a current D.O.T. card (cannot be more than 2 years old).
  •       Provide proof of vehicle insurance and vehicle registration (must be verified before you can take the test).
  •       Provide a test vehicle of the same class as the CDL you are testing for (must display a valid inspection sticker). 
  •       Provide a passenger that is 21 years of age or older with a valid New Jersey CDL to ride with you in your test vehicle to the test location.
  •       Pass the CDL Road Test.
  •       Pay the $42 fee to cover the cost of the commercial driver’s license (4 year maximum CDL).
  •       Pay the $2 fee for each CDL endorsement you obtain.
The CDL Road Test

      Once you pass the CDL general knowledge test, you will be allowed to schedule an appointment to take the CDL Road Test. All applicants applying for either a Class A or Class B CDL are required to take the CDL Road Test no sooner than 20 days after they acquire their validated commercial learner’s permit. All applicants applying for a School Bus endorsement can schedule an appointment to take the School Bus Road Skills Test no sooner than 10 days after passing the knowledge test. At this time, you do not have to pay a fee to take the CDL Road Test.

      The CDL Road Test is a three part test that consists of a Pre-trip Inspection, a Basic Vehicle Controls Test, and an On-Road Driving Test. Each part of the test will take approximately twenty minutes to complete. The MVC agency will not supply a vehicle for you to test in. You must bring your own test vehicle. You will be required to take the test in the same class and type of motor vehicle you plan to drive once you obtain your CDL.  If you take the CDL Road Test in a commercial motor vehicle that is not equipped with air brakes, then you will have an air brakes restriction attached to your commercial driver’s license. 

  •       Pre-trip Inspection: Before you can take the CDL driving tests, you will first be tested on your knowledge of the class of vehicle you plan on driving once you obtain your CDL. The Pre-trip inspection also determines if your commercial vehicle is safe enough to drive on public roads.
  •       Basic Controls Test: Before you can take the Road Skills Test, you will first need to prove that you have the skills to operate a commercial motor vehicle on public roads. This test consists of various off-road maneuvers such as backing up your vehicle, moving your vehicle forward, and making turns within a defined area. 
  •       Road Skills Test: Once you pass the first two tests, you will be required to drive your commercial vehicle on public roads in various traffic situations. You will be required to operate the same class of commercial vehicle you plan to drive once you obtain your CDL.

      The Basic Controls Test may include the following maneuvers:

  •       90 degree alley docking
  •       Straight line backing
  •       Parallel parking (driver side)
  •       Parallel parking (conventional)
  •       Offset back/right
  •       Offset back/left

      The Road Skills Test will be administered on a route predetermined by the safety specialist. The test route will most likely include the following:

  •       Starting
  •       Stopping
  •       Braking
  •       Turning
  •       Observing traffic signs
  •       Observing traffic signals
  •       Observing other traffic
  •       Using vehicle controls
  •       Maintaining proper lane positions
  •       Downgrades
  •       Downgrade stopping
  •       Upgrades
  •       Upgrade stopping
  •       Railroad crossings
  •       Bridge clearance
  •       Underpass clearance
  •       General observance of traffic laws
  •       General safe driving practices for trucks or buses    

     On the day of your CDL Road Test appointment you must:

  1.       Arrive on time.
  2.       Bring your validated commercial learner’s permit.
  3.       Bring your valid D.O.T. medical card.
  4.       Bring a passenger (age 21 or older) that is qualified to drive a CMV with the same class of CDL or greater than the test vehicle.
  5.       Bring a test vehicle that is the same class of license that you are testing for and that has passed inspection.

      Failure to do any of the above may result in an immediate cancellation of your CDL Road Test appointment! The New Jersey Division of Motor Vehicles advises applicants to schedule their CDL Road Test appointment a few weeks in advance. If you fail the CDL Road Test you will be required to wait at least 14 consecutive days to take the test again. If you fail the test more than once, the MVC may force you to wait 180 consecutive days before allowing you to take the test again. The New Jersey MVC has the right to cancel any CDL Road Test appointment due to bad weather, under sourced staffing, or any other unforseen circumstances.

      Once you pass the CDL Road Test, you will obtain your commercial driver’s license. The commercial driver’s license will be valid until your New Jersey Class D driver’s license expires (a maximum of four years), upon which time you will be required to renew your CDL.

      Be sure to download and study the New Jersey Commercial Driver License Manual as it contains pertinent information that will help you pass the CDL Road Test. El Manual de Licencia de Chofer Comercial también está disponible en español. 

     Click here to see the map and clickable list of New Jersey MVC agencies that offer the CDL Road Test.

Commercial Driver Self-Certification

      In the state of New Jersey, all commercial driver’s license holders must self-certify as to what type of driving they will be doing (intrastate or interstate), and whether they meet or exceed the medical and physical standards put forth by the Federal Motor Carrier Safety Administration to legally and safely operate a commercial motor vehicle. All CDL applicants must self-certify once they obtain their commercial driver’s license.

      All commercial drivers who intend to operate a commercial motor vehicle for the following purposes only, do notrequire a commercial driver’s license and therefor are waived from self-certification:

  •       Taxi drivers and car-pooling van drivers who transport no more than seven passengers.
  •       Operators of rescue and first-aid squad vehicles used during emergencies and other related activities.
  •       Firefighters operating fire fighting vehicles and equipment.
  •       Operators of construction equipment that is not designed for use on public roads.
  •       Non-civilian operators of military equipment.
  •       Operators of vehicles used in the transportation of human corpses.
  •       Operators of recreational vehicles that are being used for personal recreational use only.
  •       Farmers using a commercial motor vehicle to transport agricultural products, farm machinery, or farm supplies within 150 air-miles of their farm (Farmers are still required to submit the CDL Holder Self-Certification Affidavit).

      If you intend to operate a commercial motor vehicle for any other purpose than those listed above, then you are required to hold a valid CDL and must self-certify. If you have any questions about self-certification in the state of New Jersey, you can check out the New Jersey MVC Self-Certification FAQs.

Medical Examination Report for Commercial Driver’s License

      All CDL applicants must have the Medical Examiner’s Certificate and the Medical Examination Report completed by one of the following:

  •       Licensed U.S. doctor of medicine (M.D.)
  •       Doctor of Osteopathy (D.O)
  •       Licensed physician assistant (P.A.)
  •       Advanced practice registered nurse
  •       Chiropractor

      The Medical Examiner’s Certificate must be dated within the previous two years and attached to the Medical Examination Report. The New Jersey Motor Vehicle Commission will only accept your medical forms if they have been completed by a qualified physician who has been certified by the Federal Motor Carrier Safety Administration. You can search for a FMCSA certified physician by using the National Registry of Certified Medical Examiners.

      The FMSCA requires you to have at least 20/40 vision in each eye and a field of vision of at least 140 degrees (70 degrees in each eye) in order to be certified to operate a commercial motor vehicle. Under certain conditions, you may be able to be waived from these and other medical requirements.     

      In the state of New Jersey, all new CDL holders and those renewing their CDL must complete and submit the CDL Holder Self-Certification Affidavit whether they are required to submit medical documents or not.

      Once you have completed and signed the Medical Examiner’s Certificate, the Medical Examination Report, the CDL Holder Self-Certification Affidavit, and any applicable medical waivers, you can submit your documents by mail to:

                         New Jersey Motor Vehicle Commission 
                         CDL Unit 
                         PO Box 685 
                         Trenton, NJ 08666

      CDL holders who have a Passenger endorsement (P) or School Bus endorsement (S) on their commercial driver’s license are required to submit their Medical Documents every two years. If you fall under this category, you must submit your completed and signed Medical Examiner’s CertificateMedical Examination ReportCDL Holder Self-Certification Affidavit, and any applicable medical waivers by mail to:

                         NJ Motor Vehicle Commission
                         Bus Application Unit
                         PO Box 127
                         Trenton, New Jersey 08666-0127

      Be sure to double check and, if needed, correct your information before you submit your documents. All CDL applicants are advised to keep copies of these documents for their own records. Applicants who have undergone an electronic fingerprint scan are advised to keep a copy of the fingerprint receipt for their own records as well. Failure to comply with state and federal self-certification regulations will result in a cancellation of your commercial driving privileges.

      If you have any questions regarding self-certification, you can contact Michelle Curry of the Motor Vehicle Commision CDL Unit at (609) 292-6500 ext. 5077 or, you can send Michelle Curry an email at Michelle.Curry@dot.state.nj.us.

Hazmat Endorsement

      Any person that is applying for a Hazardous Materials CDL endorsement is required to undergo a federal background check and federal fingerprint check according to guidelines set by the Transportation Security Administration. All applicants must also provide the required documents to verify their identification and legal U.S. status. For more information, check out the Transportation Security Administration’s F.A.Q. page. You can apply for the security threat assessment on the TSA Hazardous Material Endorsement Enrollment Website. You must begin applying at least 30 days before the expiration of your CDL. You can start the application process on the HTAP Online Application Website. To apply by phone call (855) 347-8371. Use the TSA Enrollment Center Locator to find the nearest TSA approved fingerprint office.

Military Drivers

      In the state of New Jersey, if you are currently serving in the military or have been honorably discharged within the last 90 days, and you have driven military vehicles that would require a CDL to operate as a civilian with a 2 year safe driving record, then you may qualify for the waiver of the CDL Skills Test and may be exempt from taking the commercial driver skills test. You will still be required to take the written tests. Certain restrictions apply. Download, print, and complete the Application for Military Skills Test Waiver to start the process. 

      If you have any questions about the Application for Military Skills Test Waiver, you can either call your local New Jersey MVC agency or, you can call the New Jersey Motor Vehicle Commission Driver License Info line toll-free (in New Jersey only) at (888) 486-3339 or directly at (609) 292-6500 and speak to a customer service representative. You can also contact the New Jersey Motor Vehicle Commission by email.

New Jersey CDL Endorsements

      H      Placarded Hazmat      Required to transport hazardous materials under DOT regulations. 

      N      Tank Vehicles      Required to transport liquids in bulk containers of 1,000 gallons or more.

      X      Tanker/Hazardous Materials Combination   Required to transport hazardous materials in tank vehicles   

      T      Double/Triple Trailers      Indicates CDL holder is certified to operate multiple trailer haulers. 

      P     Passengers      Indicates the CDL holder is certified to operate passenger vehicles.

      S     School Bus      Indicates the CDL holder is authorized to operate a school bus. A School Bus Certificate is also required.

Methods of Payment

      All New Jersey Motor Vehicle Commission agencies accept the following methods of payment:

  •       Cash (counter/in-person transactions only).
  •       Credit Card (VISA, Mastercard, and American Express).
  •       Personal Checks and Money Orders.

Important New Jersey Commercial Driver’s License Resources 

New Jersey Commercial Driver License Manual
Manual de Licencia de Chofer Comercial
New Jersey CDL Practice Tests
Contact the New Jersey MVC by Email
MyMVC Online Driver Services
6 Point ID Document Selector
6 Point ID Info Guide
New Jersey MVC School Bus Requirements Info Page
New Jersey MVC Passenger/School Bus Endorsement Application
New Jersey Universal Fingerprint Form for Class C Passenger Endorsement
Application for Military Skills Test Waiver
CDL Holder Self-Certification Affidavit
New Jersey MVC Self-Certification FAQs
Medical Examination Report & Medical Examiner’s Certificate
Medical Examination Report Form 649-F
Medical Examiner’s Certificate
National Registry of Certified Medical Examiners

     

      Check out our list of truck driving schools in New Jersey that will provide you with the necessary skills to obtain your commercial driver’s license and start your career in the exciting field of commercial truck driving! You may also want to check out our nationwide list of truck driving schools.

 

 Map of New Jersey CDL Written Test Locations 

TitleAddress
1. Cardiff MVA Harbor Square, 6725 Black Horse Pike, Egg Harbor Twp, NJ 08234
2. Lodi MVA 8 Mill Street, Lodi, NJ 07644
3. Mount Holly MVA Fairgrounds Plaza, 500-555 High Street, Mount Holly, NJ 08060
4. Camden MVA 2600 Mount Ephraim Avenue, Camden, NJ 08104
5. Cherry Hill MVA 1 Executive Campus, Bldg #1, Suite 110, Cherry Hill, NJ 08002
6. Rio Grande MVA ShopRite Plaza, Suite C1-C2, 1500 Route 47 South, Rio Grande, NJ 08242
7. Vineland MVA 76 W. Landis Avenue, Vineland, NJ 08360
8. Newark MVA 228 Frelinghuysen Avenue, Newark, NJ 07114
9. West Deptford MVA 215 Crown Point Road, Thorofare, NJ 08086
10. Bayonne MVA Family Dollar Plaza, 1347 Kennedy Blvd, Bayonne, NJ 07002
11. North Bergen MVA Park Plaza, 8901 Park Plaza (90th Street & Bergenline Avenue), North Bergen, NJ 07047
12. Bakers Basin MVA 3200 Brunswick Pike, Lawrenceville, NJ 08648
13. Edison MVA 45 Kilmer Road, Edison, NJ 08817
14. South Plainfield MVA Golden Acres Mall, 698 Oak Tree Avenue, South Plainfield, NJ 07080
15. Eatontown MVA 109 Route 36, Eatontown, NJ 07724
16. Freehold MVA 811 Okerson Road, Freehold, NJ 07728
17. Randolph MVA 160 Canfield Avenue, Randolph, NJ 07869
18. Toms River MVA Village Square Plaza, 1861 Hooper Avenue, Toms River, NJ 08753
19. Paterson MVA 125 Broadway, Suite 201, Paterson, NJ 07505
20. Salem MVA Finlaw Building, 1st Floor, 199 E. Broadway, Salem, NJ 08079
21. Newton MVA 51 Sparta Avenue, Newton, New Jersey 07860
22. Rahway MVA 1140 Woodbridge Road, Rahway, NJ 07065
23. Washington MVA 404 E. Washington Avenue, Washington, NJ 07882

 

 

Map of New Jersey CDL Road Test Locations

TitleAddress
1. Mays Landing MVA Hamilton Industrial Park, 1477 19th Street, Mays Landing, NJ 08330
2. Lodi MVA 8 Mill Street, Lodi, NJ 07644
3. Cherry Hill MVA 617 Hampton Road, Cherry Hill, NJ 08002
4. Bakers Basin MVA 3200 Brunswick Pike, Lawrenceville, NJ 08648
5. Eatontown MVA 109 Route 36, Eatontown, NJ 07724
6. Randolph MVA 160 Canfield Avenue, Randolph, NJ 07869
7. Miller Air Park MVA Route 530 & Mule Road, Berkeley Township, NJ 08757
8. Wayne MVA 481 Route 46 West, Wayne, New Jersey 07470
9. Salem MVA 185 Woodstown Road, Mannington, NJ 08079
10. Rahway MVA 1140 Woodbridge Road, Rahway, NJ 07065

 

Some CDL testing locations require you to set up an appointment. CDL testing hours may vary. Please call the testing location for more information.

 

Please Note: Some of the documents linked on this page are in the Adobe Portable Document Format, also known as “PDF.” Adobe Acrobat Reader is required to view, fill out and print forms. If you have problems with Adobe Acrobat Reader, see the Adobe Troubleshooting page for possible solutions.

New Jersey CDL Requirements
5 (100%) 1 vote